Sort:  

I would really love to go there! Amnart has invited me to stay at his house. His wife makes sterling silver findings for making the other half of the jewelry; and I have a bunch of her work here too.

He is a wholesale buyer, and has offered to bring me into those markets, where the public has no access I could really graze there, LOL! I enjoy gemstones, and enjoy messing with them. I have a full optical lab for measuring them, and it is even fun to sort mixed stones, just to see what they are made from.

I bought 20, 4 mm, Princess cut, Garnets from Sri Lanka. New vendor, so I was checking to be sure they actually were Garnet. I found one that measured wrong, so I concentrated on it. It turned out, that everything was wrong, and came up as Sapphire! So I paid next to nothing, for 20 Garnets (good deal) and got 19 Garnets, and one red Sapphire, also known as Ruby (great deal)! I had it appraised, for fun, and he told me it was Burmese, and worth $2300...I paid less than a dollar. :)

Wow, that is amazing; these things do happen and good luck come...

Actually, the jeweler told me about Ruby being mistaken for Garnet, as a common problem; before I told him how I had come by this stone! Ironically, the better Rubies are the ones most commonly mistaken for Garnets, as the pigeon blood Rubies (the I want color) is closest to Garnet.

WOAH. I just realized how to sort them FAST! Ruby glows when hit by UV; Garnet does not. I should do a quick search in my Rhodolite Garnet Cases with my UV source.... :)

I will, Need to get the UV source set up and running, then I will go for it! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75