Hackintosh or macOS on PC

in #software7 years ago

Many people think that it is not possible to run macOS on a regular computer or laptop. But it's not true, macOS can be installed on PC since Apple switch from Motorola to Intel Processors. Although it's not so simple as installing Windows or Ubuntu-Linux.

The main reason, the lack of drivers (usually the driver is written only for a certain hardware, which comes with the Apple Mac). Since each of us has different hardware on PC, so finding the right driver will not be easy.

The operating system macOS, which is installed on non-Apple computers is called hackintosh (hackintosch) and basically represents an assembly (distribution). Each such assembly includes a bootloader, drivers (kext), system files and much more. Such assemblies are assembled by different hacking teams and are not official. Installation of such an assembly takes an average of 40-50 minutes, except for the preparatory phase. On which you can spend from one day to several months :-)

As I know, Apple forbids in the license to install macOS on a PC, so installing this OS will violate the license of the company, but this is not about that. In principle, I think especially Apple does not care about this issue, at least for now. Therefore, you can use macOS at your own risk.

In my experiment, the system run after 3 installation, the first time I did not know that I had to choose different kext (drivers), etc., the second time I chose too much, but for the third time I chose the minimum that allowed Start the system.

However, WiFi, LAN, sound card, card reader did not work for me. Maybe I just did not have the patience and time to find the necessary kext (drivers), but killing for a couple of days I could not run this devices.

But i think the experiment was a success, you could feel what macOS is like on a PC. But to be honest, I did not see any special benefits in using macOS on the PC. Especially I did not like the moment that you can not upgrade to a newer version. More precisely, you can, but it will again "be dancing with a tambourine" :-)

So if you want use macOS, i recommend you to buy a real Apple Mac and don't spend time for Hackintosh in real live :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66