Vivaldi

in #software6 years ago (edited)

I've already written about browsers in the past and even though I've been sticking to only one of them for the longest time in the past few months this has changed up quite a bit. After Mozilla decided to remotely install an add-on for some users (without asking or telling them), which was an advertisement I started to doubt the trustworthiness of Firefox and Mozilla.

I always had the impression that out of all large browsers Firefox was the one to care the most for privacy and their users. Google chrome is obviously not a good choice, Opera was bought by a big Chinese company and any other browsers aren't even worth mentioning since they're too niche and fall short in many categories.

There's also Brave, but even though the idea is good I have a feeling that at least one or two major companies will try to sue them at some point. I also dislike that the sole selling point is acceptable ads and that you can select where the money goes.

So after the whole Firefox fiasco I decided to completely ditch it. I actually had uninstalled it before that, but that was because Firefox Quantum was freezing constantly and became unusable. My next stop was Opera, which was great. It had integrated VPN, syncing and everything you'd expect from Chrome (Since it uses the chromium backend). But as I said it's been bought by a Chinese company so privacy isn't high up on their list anymore.

Luckily some Opera developers didn't put up with that and left the company to create Vivaldi. Initially I was sceptical and I even stopped using it after my first try because it felt very unpolished, but I came back after a short time to find out that it has improved a lot. It has an intuitive interface, many options for customizability, namely CSS so you can change how the browser looks (Something that Chrome lacks and Firefox supports). It's also once again based on Chromium, so you can install all Chrome add-ons.

So yeah currently Vivaldi is my go-to browser choice and for now I think it's here to stay. You can head over to vivaldi.com and give it a try if you want.

Sort:  

Vivaldi feels GREAT! THANK YOU! I've been eager for a new option .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73