Song Challenge Day 01 : A song you like with a colour in the title

in #song-challenge6 years ago (edited)

I found this post via @dfinney this morning and since I'm a huge music lover, love a good challenge, always looking to promote Steemit via Facebook and I wouldn't mind having a post prompt every day I figured why not?!

Day 01 : A song you like with a colour in the title.

Well, the most obvious ones come to mind like Yellow by Coldplay, Blue by Eiffel 65, Ebony and Ivory by Paul & Stevie, Lady in Red by Chris de Burg, Black or White by MJ, Purple Rain by Prince..

The one I'm really feeling right now has gotta be..

Black Betty!!

Now, our girl Betty is pretty popular and since her debut in the 70s there's been a few covers made by other people. Some stay true to the original beat and some put their own spin on it. Have a look.

Here is Ram Jam's original clip.

I love how the clip is no frills. It looks like it was filmed in someone's yard, no fancy gear or video edits. Just raw passion and talent.

The Spiderbait version

Betty joined the modern age. This version sounds a lot busier than the first, and is that a voice modulator I hear?

Tom Jones even gave it a go!

I love Tom Jones. He's such a character and looks like he put a pimp spin to this song.

Meatloaf jumped on the Betty wagon too

My least favourite version (Yes, I even like Tom's version better than this). Why? Well, if youre going to try and make it yours then follow through and take it someplace different. My problem with this version is they messed with the riff at the start adding that extra guitar(?) in the intro, which imho sounded off. Then Meatloaf lets loose, which sounds great since his voice is well suited to the song, but he carried on singing like they didn't change the intro.

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds made it theirs

Out of all the covers this is my favourite. They really made this song theirs. They changed the intro completely removing the instrumental replacing it with mean vocals. I also love the acoustic organic sound ~ it sounds like they are mainly on basic drums (if that) and vocals. Nothing like great vocals dripping with conviction.

In the end, my final pick is...

The original Ram Jam version.

In this case, I definitely feel the original is still the best version. Music wise, I love the complexity and simplicity of the song. I'm not gonna lie I'm totally in it for the beat and the easy sing along component.

Ohhhhhh black Betty bam ba blam x 100

I love it for the many pub crawl memories attached to it (Oh to be young again!) and I loved it even more when I saw the video clip. Seeing these blokes in the 70s doing their thing, having a jam session in the yard with their mates watching on. Seems like a lot of fun, wish I was there with them!

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

Thank you to @connecteconomy for the post prompt and for bringing this challenge on to Steemit.

It's a brilliant idea to encourage engagement and to promote Steemit on facey. I know I'll be posting about this on my FB account just to show people the difference between posting on Steemit and posting on Facebook.

Why don't you join the challenge?

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

Before I go..

One last Black Betty

And this one is for the gamers!

In Rayman Legends, once you complete the levels in the Teensies In Trouble painting, gaining enough stars, you will find yourself standing in front of the Castle Rock painting.

What's up with Castle Rock? Well check it out!!

Is it as fun as it looks?

No. It's even funner!!!! Y'all gotta try this!

The cute factor is ridiculous, the music, the beat just adds to the adrenaline. It's enjoyment plus. I actually just play that stage sometimes.

In fact I just might give it a go today.

Happy Thursday Steemit!

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

Sort:  

Louder Harder Faster

Omg. And I thought the spiderbait version went off! Thanks for sharing!

Welcome to the 30-day #song-challenge! :)
I had no idea there were so many versions of this song! They are all really good!


🎵Thanks for participating in the 30-day song challenge! Please spread some love by checking the entries of your fellow participants every now and then [just click here] and giving some upvotes!* 💚

Thanks for initiating such a fun challenge!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @flowerfairy.

Haha I love it!! Thank you @flowerfairy xxx

Love that Spiderbait version!!

Where can I get in on this challenge? I also love music.....!!!! 😁🎸🤟🏼

Woohooo!! Yeh that spiderbait version goes off!

Read up on the challenge right here!

https://steemit.com/song-challenge/@connecteconomy/promo-steem-summer-song-challenge-steemit-vs-facebook

Excellent song choice! I love that song! I, too, found out about this challenge from @dfinney's post! I hope we can both keep up with all 30 days! I look forward to seeing your picks!

Hello @bearone, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00