Love Yourself

in #song6 years ago (edited)

When I was so much younger, I used to be very shy and get easily intimidated. I didn’t know how to handle criticism as a kid.
Whenever anyone gives an opinion that doesn’t favor me it makes me doubt myself.
But I never let it show.

Most people see me as a pretty little girl who excels in her academics as well.
Maybe that made other kids be mean to me.
I never let their words get to me until I transferred school.

I got the teachers’ attention and made me the school’s muse and represented our school in a beauty competition during our Intramurals.
I made new friends too but the mean girls came to me as well, to get to know me more.
They patiently waited until they can make their first strike at me.

They bullied me constantly while pretending to be my friends.
I remember excusing myself from morning exercise dance to go to the toilet and locked myself there until it’s over.
There are times I locked myself inside the cubicle while dancing.
This is all because I cannot stand being judged or criticized by those girls.
I finally graduated Elementary School and separated ways.

But the damage in my confidence they inflicted on me was still there.
I don’t want extra attention on me in fear of being bullied again.

This is the song that helped me get through my self-doubt.
I cried and reflected.
I am supposed to be who I am.
I should only strive to be better than myself.
I also learned to admire others without belittling myself.

Stay the Same by Joey McIntyre

Don't you ever wish
You were someone else
You were meant to be
The way you are exactly
Don't you ever say
You don't like the way you are
When you learn to love yourself
You're better off by far
And I hope you always stay the same
'Cause there's nothing 'bout you I would change
I think that you could be
Whatever you wanted to be
If you could realize
All the dreams you have inside
Don't be afraid
If you got something to say
Just open up your heart
And let it show you the way
Don't you ever wish
You were someone else
You were meant to be
The way you are exactly
Don't you ever say
You don't like the way you are
When you learn to love yourself
You're better off by far
And I hope you always stay the same
'Cause there's nothing 'bout you I would change
Believe in yourself
Reach down inside
The love you find will set you free
Believe in yourself
You will come alive
Have faith in what you do
You'll make it through
Oh,
Don't you ever wish
You were someone else
You were meant to be
The way you are exactly
Don't you ever say
You don't like the way you are
When you learn to love yourself
You're better off by far
And I hope you always stay the same
'Cause there's nothing 'bout you I would change
Don't change
Songwriters: Joe Carrier / Joe Mc Intyre

By the way, we met again during highschool days in a reunion held at a resort.
Their leader liked my swimwear and wanted me to give it to her.
This time I know better.
I declined politely and offered her my spare swimwear which is a midrib.
She insisted on taking the swimwear I am already wearing. I stand my ground. I gave her a “Take it or Leave it Deal”—with a smile.

She wore the spare midrib.
But was laughed by our male companions.
Well, it was too obvious that it wasn’t her size.
I was skinnier than her.

Lesson:
Be yourself.
It doesn’t mean that it looks good on someone, it will also fit you the same way.

Proverbs 14:30

A heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones.

Roman 12:21

Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil by good.

Avatar logo ryl3.png

Share this awesomeness!
ryl steemit.png

I VOTED @steemgigs @surpassinggoogle @curie @utopian-io @themarkymark @ausbitbank @blocktrades @mahdiyari @vesteem
AS WITNESSES BECAUSE I BELIEVE THEY HAVE THE COMMUNITY'S BEST INTEREST AT HEART.

steembulls logo.jpghttps://discord.me/SteemBulls
Join the growing community of Steembulls on discord to talk to people(not bots hehehe) and meet our admins @pkalra @bunnychum and @honeychum.

ryl.gif
Join our class here and unleash the creative writer in you.

Be inspired and learn more from these authors @dangerousangel @evlachsblog @sarahdandridge @lynbabe10 @fruthielicious @arrliinn @kennyroy @erangvee
STEEM ON!!!

Sort:  

Hello @ryl,
Your post "Love Yourself" hast just been resteemed !!!.😉😄😉
Just keep being with me. Cheers..


😻🙃😻 If you want's to stop me, Please Unfollow @tow-heed😄😻😄

Wow this is interesting and heart touching. Well am glad you made it out to know and find yourself is the first step towards success in life great post

My thoughts exactly..
We should start with ourselves.

don't overdo that, you'll stop questioning

I was very shy, too.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01