I Ain't Goin Out Like That - Cypress Hill / Black Sunday // Steemit Recordpool

in #songoftheday6 years ago (edited)

Cypress Hill - Black Sunday.jpeg


Usually Sunday's are chill and mellow, but some are just black and fucked up. This one is, for me anyways, lately I find my mind just drifting towards it's darker corners for some reason, or maybe it's just those long, dark and cold winter nights getting to me. Anyways what better to warm myself up with than a dark, dusty, funky boom bappin classic?

Black Sunday is still my favorite Cypress Hill album (closely followed by III Temples of Boom). Spiked with Cypress Hill classics, from your favorite stoner's favorite stoner songs I wanna get High and Hits from the Bong to headbangers like Insane in the Brain;
my personal favorite I recently rediscovered I ain‘t goin out like that ;

One of the things I always loved about Cypress was that they we‘re one of the few rap-groups that had a certain appeal and fan-base beyond just rap-fans. Which wasn‘t as common a few years ago as it is today and rap generally wasn‘t as popular as it is today. As someone who has had an eclectic taste in music across all types of genres from early on, I always appreciated music that could bring together people who normally listen only to one or a few genres.

DJ Muggs, the man behind the 1s and 2s and beat mastermind of the group, has crafted a kind of unique sound that‘s classic 90‘s boom bap but also soemthing else. Muggs is probably one of the most underrated Hip Hop producers. With B-real's unique voice and delivery a lot of people kind of forget about Muggs.

If your sunday is more mellow and chill than mine; this is maybe more your speed :)



They haven‘t released a new album since 2010 but they regularly rock shows and festivals all over the world. They‘re a great live act, if you have the chance to see them I can recommend it.

You can check out their music and more on their website:
https://cypresshill.com/

They also have a short documentary called The Haunted Hill on their youtube vevo channel:
https://www.youtube.com/user/CypressHillVEVO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78