Good Company - a ditty about me and my Ovation Roundback electric-acoustic guitar

in #songwriting6 years ago

This song is about my partner in crime/musical creation, 'Evancie'. She isn't my first, but she will be my last. Between her Ovation PreAmp pickup and recording system, fiberglass 'roundback' body (making her essentially immortal as a guitar), narrow neck, low action fret board, and unique & eye-catching finish, she is a singer/songwriter's wet dream. ;D

11834704_10203698289097628_6235521953842315600_o.jpg

Please enjoy the song!

Sometimes my brain gets foggy, sometimes I don't know which way is up
And it depends on many things, how the day is going to turn out
Sometimes I'm a little bit shaky, sometimes my emotions they run wild
But when these feelings hit me, I have a place to run and hide

(Chorus)
It's my escape, my empty space, my hidden place
I can be alone and not feel lonely with a song.
My music - the company I like to keep
And with my guitar at my side I fall asleep.

What is reality? Why do we only use our eyes to see?
My ears 'see' much more clearly.
So where's your happy place?
Do you feel so calm, do you feel safe
like me in mine?
My lips don't lie, my brother, listen to the words
of all my songs
and sing along.
The truth is beautiful
It hurts but it feels good to sing it from the heart of
something real.

-chorus-

Truly, sadly, this world can be so stale
But if you sing loud enough you can make this love real.

I'm not a quiet person, but please forgive me when I get tired
of all this 'noise'.
My head is full of lightning
My toes like to be free
Just like me!
And when I lay me down to sleep
At least I know I am my only enemy ~

-chorus x4 -

©2017 Esther J. Doucet. All rights reserved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63