Songwriting Challenge #16 "Been Workin' For the Man" by Morgan Washam

in #songwriting5 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone! Today I'm presenting a song entitled "Been Workin' For the Man". The song is a reflection on working a job that was unfulfilling. It seems like many times in life, people go chasing money thinking it will bring happiness and stability to their lives. From my experience, the latter is certainly true. From my observations, having a job and being a productive member of society is important in creating a stable predictable life, especially if you have a family. However, when a person enjoys and finds meaning in what they do occupationally, it creates a sense of greater self-worth.

From my experience, there is nothing worse than waking up everyday and loathing the tasks at hand. After years of such practice, it can rightly beat a person down in the worst way internally. I think that's where this song came from for me. I'm not sure how meaningful it will be to you. Although, writing songs is like therapy for my soul. I take them as they come. I hope that you have a happy Friday! See you tomorrow.

Morgan Washam is a singer songwriter, producer and educator from the Appalachian hills of Ohio. He has performed in many music projects throughout the years including Peach Melba and Blood Moon. His most recent project is a folk music collective called Wildwood Franklin http://wildwoodfranklin.com . The group's mission is to build a community of passionate and compassionate individuals that work to redefine the essence and mystique of the americana sound while staying true to the roots flavorings that have encapsulated the genres. http://morganwasham.com [email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66