Subbed at another church today | Bevington & Sons, London, organ (1845)

in #sonicgroove5 years ago (edited)

IMG_0544.jpg
Bevington & Sons, London 1845
1 manual, 5 speaking stops, pedal pulldowns, mechanical action


Today I subbed at Holy Trinity Cathedral, Wangaratta. The cathedral is home to two beautiful organs—a Willis and Bevington. Both are quite different instruments, in both size and character.

The Willis is a traditional English cathedral organ with 3 manuals and all the stops you could ever need, and the other, a much more compact instrument with only a single manual, 5 speaking stops and the ability to be hand blown (no electricity required). Fortunately there was electricity, so the bellows were filled up for me by the blower!

Even though I've played at this church serveral times, there's always time for a sneaky selfie before the service—she's a beauty!


IMG_0547.jpg
A close up of the facade (I'm not sure if these pipes are speaking or only for decoration)


IMG_0545.jpg
A close up of the manual and stops


IMG_0551.jpg
The flat pedalboard is permanently coupled to the manual (no stops)


image.png
Director of Music and @contrabourdon (2017)

The photo above was taken after a recital in 2017 by the DoM of the cathedral. I think it was in 2016 where the DoM also did monthly organ recitals here and I went to every one of them. The drive to the cathedral is about 45 mins from my place but it was well worth it. Often I had to turn pages and manage some registrations for him. Come to think of it, I actually owe some credit to the DoM as he was partly responsible for my inspiration behind starting a lunchtime recital series in my town.

You might be wondering why I was playing the Bevington organ today instead of the Willis. Well, sadly, the Willis has been out of action for probably over a year now due to a rat infestation. The rats had eaten into the leather bellows, causing the air to leak from them which subsequently means there is no air to flow through the pipes. As far as I'm aware, they are still raising funds for its complete restoration and the DoM will be giving a benefit recital (along with other musicians) in Melbourne later this year. I do hope it will be sounding again because it's a significant instrument in the region.

I did record some clips on the Bevington this morning, but silly me...I did not have auto gain turned on my recording device and everything ended up distorted. Believe me...I was really, really annoyed about that. Anyway, I will leave you with a recording of the Willis from 2017 at an Evensong: Lord, Thou hast been our refuge by the popular Ralph Vaughan Williams. My iPhone was used for this recording at the console so it's not the best but at least it's something!

All photos were taken by me.

Yours truly,
@contrabourdon


I'm co-owner of witness untersatz with organduo!

You can also support me using Steem Basic Income


Classical_Music_smaller.png

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto
Community Logo by ivan.atman


Sort:  

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @contrabourdon.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

Congratulations @contrabourdon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 comments. Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @paintingangels.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

That's a beautiful instrument!

It is. And it sounds just as beautiful too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I would love to listen to it 'live'... I haven't had the opportunity to listen to one for awhile...
There are a couple of churches here with pipe organs, St Mary's Cathedral and St Andrew's which is the one I listened to... quite a while ago. They are fascinating!

Wow!!! You’ll find a lot of organ videos on my blog. There’s a weekly organ contest here on Steem. If you’re interested, check the #secretsoforganplaying tag.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow! Hehe... Will go look into it - I don't play, at all, just an interest after I came across pipe organs in some past occasions... :)

Those above things should be reinforcement sound .
Ancient instruments are really huge.
!shop

Hi~ contrabourdon!
@cloudblade has gifted you 1 SHOP!

Currently you have: 1 SHOP

View or Exchange SHOP Please go to steem-engine.com.

Are you bored? Play Rock,Paper,Scissors game with me!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94