What once it seemed?

in #sonnet6 years ago

What once it seemed?

original sonnet


erzglanz-star-2223370_1920 4.jpg


nature-3056427_1920 2.jpgnature-3056427_1920 3.jpg


O for life to be what once it seemed
And O that I'd recall what even was.
A hunch have I that bright I once it dreamed
A-clenched by fancy's sweet & luscious claws.

A crow with bluest pearling eyes of dew
Or phoenix with translucent wings of air
Imagination: avian askew
Contemplative, now calm, or calm to snare.

A house it built with bits of shining dross
With lofts unreal where slept I like a babe
A house whose stones dissolved to only moss
In slumber studied I its astrolabe.

The constellations glanced were only I
The wordless worlds of lightlush symphonies
And toward them I aspired with a sigh
To float through breath, up spaceward-flowing breeze.

When in the cosmos searched I for the lands
Of laughter, rosy cheeks, and crystal care
Yet only laughed the void at my demands
And reflected me my loon abhorrent stare.

And in those eyes forgot "what once it seemed,"
And so I write to search what once I dreamed.


erzglanz-star-2223370_1920 3.jpgerzglanz-star-2223370_1920 2.jpg


nature-3056427_1920.jpg


raven-3096604_1920 2.jpg

Written by
@d-pend
2/1/18

Images are
Free domain &
Edited by @d-pend.

raven-3096604_1920 3.jpg


raven-3096604_1920.jpg


Sort:  

@d-pend ... poetic verse ... I wish more poets would make the effort.

With respect to the poem ... I sense you're 'getting older' and seeing the world 'as it is,' not as a younger you saw it 'as it ought to be.' You're getting better at 'reality-testing' (Heaven forbid) and you're worried that that is killing off your fantasy-land, the source of your artistic creativity.

Who knows, if you're not careful ... you might even become a Republican!

Don't sweat it. Shakespeare got better as he got older as did of most great writers. It's only mathematicians and physicists that peak at 28. A lot of poets seem to think that to write good poetry you have to be so opaque that it would take the Oracle of Delphi to decipher the meaning. As if they're were getting points for 'mystique.' Fine, if that's what your into, but the price is that 99% of the population won't even bother to read it.

The real world with real people, with real hopes and real dreams, with real fears and shedding real tears. You don't need a fantasy world - the real one is filled with material.

Excellent poem by the way. I'm new the Steemit (3 days) but I've already posted a few poems and there's many to come. I'd love to get your feedback.

Beautiful poem

A crow with bluest pearling eyes of dew
Or phoenix with translucent wings of air
Imagination: avian askew
Contemplative, now calm, or calm to snare.

Nature can be a great source of inspiration. My last poem came while I was walking through a park.

I am tempted to write about the blue moon but it kept me up last night.

This made me think of Contact movie, have you watched it? Maybe you should be sent to space hehe ;)

I can't seem to hide the fact that I've have become a big fan of your work already.

Your finesse and expertise just wows me. With you here and other beautiful inkers here, Steemit would turn out to be more than a community. I am learning many art here already. Your poems wouldn't stop igniting writing inspiration in me.

I wouldn't hesitate to show you my works soon. While I keep learning from you, kindly follow back. Thanks @d-pend

Thanks for the energetic message my friend @mrbreeziewrites. Looking forward to you sharing your stuff!

It is a pleasure. I am a big fan. I tried some indigenous post some days back. You can check here. https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrbreeziewrites/african-festival-scene-the-experience

In this poem it seemed you were relishing some memories, expecially childhood memories, i could feel the longing for the love of nature, it's amazing the vocabulary but trust me you're the king of imageries.
This is beautiful

The crow having bluest pearls of dew would certainly eschew imagination that is already malleable​ under the duress of​ palpability. The abab cdcd scheme proceeds lucidly and takes one into metaphysical realm of poetic style, surpassing at times even Eliot
Following you for more @d-pend

And so I give my two cents to another phenomenal piece. Nostalgia, at least in the first part of this piece, is what rings out to me. The symbolism of the birds speaks freedom. The colors speak beauty. And every word sings a beautiful tune. @d-pend, a prodicious talented poet indeed.

The last two lines .... I love it. A poem combined with philosophy is always really deep. I like to decode every message behind each lines. Just like you, I love nature. Your poem took me a ride to the past when I'm with nature and happy moments. In all
Honesty, english is not my mother tongue but I am always fascinated with english poems. 😌🙏🏻

This was a nice post but what I didn't get was the connection between it and the birds.

Thanks. Mainly a reference to this:

A crow with bluest pearling eyes of dew
Or phoenix with translucent wings of air
Imagination: avian askew

Bit of imagery. Could've used some cosmic images as well, but I went the avian route :-)
Thanks for your honesty @iamowomizz!

Another great spiritual poem from @d-pend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72