COVER CONTEST // @EMELANSON // soundlegion steemit artist compilation VOL4 entry

in #soundlegion6 years ago

Hey All

Dropping in with my entry into the @soundlegion Steemit artists music compilation volume 4 cover contest.

Breakdown

For the design, I started by making some vector art to serve as a clean base for the cover in Illustrator. Vectors have the ability to infinitely scale and retain their image quality, which I'm always a stickler for. The resultant art was the snakey-kinda thing [or more technically, a blend between shapes along a spine] in the background, which originally had a gradient and some other color properties that I ended up ditching in favor of a monochromatic final image.

I then ported it over to Photoshop to add in the logos, typesetting, and get the colors right. After looking through the provided logos, I decided I wanted to emphasize the steemit logo. Balancing the size and placement of the elements within the piece always takes a few tries and a bit of experimentation.

The last step of the process for me can be the one where the design undergoes the most drastic changes, as I tend to work with color last. When I was laying everything out, I had several strongly contrasting colors going on, a very busy gradient within the vector art, and the Steemit signature color all competing for attention. I do it this way for inspiration, as it allows me to see several avenues to pursue once I reach the end. Discarding the majority of the color information and going with a flat and simple design emphasizing the steemit colors [which I nudged darker to be easier on the eyes] won out.

Here's an alternate take

Be sure to submit a track or cover over at the contest page.

https://steemit.com/music/@soundlegion/steemit-artists-music-compilation-volume-4-submissions-and-cover-contest-make-a-volume-4-cover-and-win-25-steem

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Perfect..

contest update: I have sent you 2 steem for your work because of contest changes.
https://steemit.com/soundlegion/@soundlegion/steemit-artist-music-compilation-volume-4-cover-art-contest-revised-no-longer-using-the-official-steemit-logo

would you please re submit?
Thank you friend

Hey @soundlegion ! Didn't get a chance to fix it before I went on vacation. Here's two without the steemit logo!Steemit vol4 ver3.jpg

Steemit vol4 ver3 inv.jpg

thank you big my friend. such a total shame to cause looked so awesome with that logo like that, lots of votes in for that one too.

Ah bummer. Sure thing, I'll whip something up tonight.

these are fantastic thank you so much for entering. This is pretty top knotch i love it!

Thanks for checking it out, and hosting the contest!

thats wonderfull

Congratulations @emelanson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

@emelanson you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @emelanson! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @emelanson! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80