The edge of the universe

in #space6 years ago (edited)

20180904_194514.jpgI was on my phone the other day and heard in the background the words "the edge of the universe” and I thought to myself, I never knew there was an edge to it I always thought it continued as space, stars, undiscovered planets etc.

But after reading an article online due to curiosity what I understood their belief to be of the edge of the universe is merely what scientists/astronomers can see from light travelling towards them from the conceptual edge and where they estimate they can potentially get to without having to do something inconceivable as going faster than the speed of light to reach past that area or by using wormholes.

So theories as to what would be at this edge ranges from another universe in a bubble next to our universe that is in a bubble which to me is hard to conceive, a bubble filled with a universe and what is on the outside of this bubble stopping other potential bubbles from bumping into each other? Gravity or water?

There is also the concept of a continuous space with stars, planets like I mentioned earlier but scientists mentioned the possibility of other versions of ourselves existing which does seem inconceivable for another version of ourselves to exist so far away that would have the same conditions as we have here to exist and look like us requiring the same parents etc.

People have often mentioned multiple universes existing side by side with every decision we make branching off into another reality for example if I decided to go to work one day and not go the other day leading to potentially different scenarios but that would involve so many braches.
What might be possible and conceivable is if there were branches of our lives that were in another reality that stemmed from important decisions we make in our lives not just trivial things.

Scientists have also pointed towards and expanding universe which would seem to indicate a moving “edge” that we could possibly never catch up with even though light has been mentioned to be slowing down when measurements have been taken.

As a person who believes in God I would have to question the purpose of other universes and potentially other life if we are “created in his image” what we think of as aliens (if they exist) created in the image of? There are so many planets that may not be there for a reason in our universe so I would question what are they there for? Blackholes and wormholes are they for our use and discovery or do they serve another purpose that we are yet to understand such as balancing gravitational pulls and expelling harmful radiation or rays.

Theories have also gone as far as saying we’re in a virtual reality existence due to the understanding of particles and matter.
I would also like to question flat earthers and to see how a flat earth would fit into the universe are other planets flat or non existent?

These are just my ramblings and concepts of what I read and believe I am not a scientist so those who have an understanding of quantum physic’s etc. and who know a lot more if you could shed some light on any of this that you perceive to be wrong or can add to the blog please feel free to comment. I am not saying I am right on any of these ideas or that I understood all that I read but you should always double check things for yourself anyway don’t just take my word for it.

Sort:  

Very interesting to hear your thoughts on this. You know, with the way they describe the universe its almost like they're describing a single drop of water which lay in an ocean of water. It seems incorrect to separate it from the whole. As far as the multiverse is concerned I think those universes would be separate entirely from the ones they describe that are too far out in the distance to observe.

It seems like the multiverse(s) would be something you'd have to punch a hole in space-time to access. Either that, or something separated by dimension as opposed to distance. TBH, I'm not 100% sure the multiverse exists, so all I can do is try and speculate on the matter. Welcome to steem! I found your post because I monitor the tag 'multiverse'. I look forward to reading more of your content.

I think they separate the universe due to their measurement of it through light years. As for multiverses who knows what a black hole or worm hole can lead to? Thanks for the welcome. I don't have any more content on space per say just one on God with the mention of a few space matters but i appreciate your input.

As a person who believes in God I would have to question the purpose of other universes and potentially other life if we are “created in his image”

I am really beginning to enjoy your thoughts and debating with you my friend!

I have often wondered what religious people would make of alien life if we ever discover it. Would you concede that if we did discover aliens and further discovered that they had their own belief system quite separate from ours, would that convince you that our version of god didn't exist?

If triangles had gods, they'd have 3 sides.

Cg

I'm enjoying debating with you too, would be good to get some input from more people too. According to the bible there will be aliens but these are demons in disguise so make of that what you will, but there are a few deceptions mentioned that are coming. Curious as to what their belief system would be but until that day. What does your science have to say about aliens if humans evolved where did the aliens evolve from the same primordial goo? but in different conditions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73