Opportunity - On So Many Levels

in #space6 years ago (edited)

DSC00641.jpg

Opportunity. Here she is!


DSC00640.jpg
My pics, 2007

Right here, right now, I'm just going to say it: I have many loves.
.. and a new one, recently discovered, too.

I met her, Opportunity, above... well, that's not her. That's MER- not A, Spirit, or B, Opportunity a decade ago. Well, her earthbound sister triplet. Actually, only her PR version. The Earth-bound Mars analogue doesn't really leave the house much, to keep it in pristine Mars-like condition.

But, this isn't about the Mars Exploration Rover - B so much as her namesake, Opportunity.

ironpagebreak.png

Opportunity, the 400 pound, 185 kg explorer was launched in July of 2003, and landed in Meridiani Planum in January of 2004. She touched down three weeks after her twin Spirit (MER-A) touched down on the Red planet, our Earth's own sister.
Opportunity was designed for a 90 day mission. Some 5109 SOLS later (5249 earth days, cause Mars is longer days than earth by 37 minutes, she's driven 45 kilometers, mostly by preprogrammed trips emailed to her. Check her out here

ironpagebreak.png

'Cause it's next.
'Cause we came out of the cave,
and we looked over the hill and we saw fire;
and we crossed the ocean and we pioneered the west,
and we took to the sky.

The history of man is hung on a timeline of exploration
and this is what's next.

- Sam Seaborn

ironpagebreak.png

Opportunity means What's Next?

I love that. I love that it isn't defined.
I love that it is open ended and we get to define it.

For me, it is about exploring the world around us, caring for it, and each other.
It is about exploring the people around us, and caring for them, too.

ironpagebreak.png

Opportunity it is about exploring in the larger context.
The sense of wonder as we go out into the greater universe, and find out

What's next?

...that's Opportunity.

ironpagebreak.png

Sort:  

This was wonderful @bluefinstudios..

For me, it is about exploring the world around us, caring for it, and each other.
It is about exploring the people around us, and caring for them, too.

This says an awful lot about you and I see this every time we cross paths.

Everything having to do with space fascinates me.. when I was little I dreamed of being an astronaut and I always find myself looking up at the sky and the stars.

I followed your link and had a look around.. thats some really cool stuff.. thanks for sharing!!

Thanks.

I just read some sad news from NASA: There's a massive storm blocking out sunlight, and taht's not good for our little girl! Sunlight is her lifeblood!

That's a great take on Opportunity! And glad to hear Opportunity can still phone home.

I get so caught up in my little world here sometime I forget about the cosmos! Thanks for reminding me to look up!

~T

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Oh, bad news, for my little girlfriend on another Planet.
NASA released an image of the massive dust storm on MARS. Good news, Opportunity phoned home. So, there's still battery for some ground to home communications. Science Ops are suspended. AND no idea how this will affect battery life/ability to recharge.

Screen Shot 2018-06-10 at 23.28.24.png

"This global map of Mars shows a growing dust storm as of June 6, 2018. The map was produced by the Mars Color Imager (MARCI) camera on NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter spacecraft. The blue dot indicates the approximate location of Opportunity.
Credits: NASA/JPL-Caltech/MSSS"

Very cool indeed. Nice little bit of fact thrown in there with a little blast of wisdom to finish, can't go wrong!

Opportunity it is about exploring in the larger context.

Love that.

Wow, I really like this.

Opportunity means What's Next?

Now I am not an optimistic person by nature, and most things just piss me off and seem pointless but I can work with that. As you say we define it and determine what it means to us, here is looking towards the future. 🍻

I have hope for your little girlfriend on Mars!!!!! Look how far she made it!!! I bet a little sand won't stand in her way! hehehehe

Never give up hope, @bluefinstudios! :)

I love how DITO lets us explore completely different variations on a theme! I don't think anyone else will have a post about Mars!!!! hehehehe Nice job :)

Oh indeed,

what's next?

Especially when you see opportunity to serve humanity.

Very beautiful poem, and the thoughts behind it too.

We don't often look at the world and ask how can I be of service, or become the one who is knocking on people's door bringing a small gift for the day, not necessarily in physical or monetary, but in warmth, kindness, empathy and support.

Love it.i

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36