You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The frustration and difficulty of fighting spam on Steemit

in #spam6 years ago

It does. To truly make it anywhere on Steemit requires either an investment of money or an investment in quality content and lots of time. Even if spammers weren't flagged, they still would only individually get a small portion of the reward pool because self voting isn't as profitable as you think. In my opinion, there are much worse problems involving bot-net spammers; something that is much more sophisticated than your generic sit-and-post-10-times-a-day-spammer. Flagging is apparently not the answer for this type of spam. I wonder if flagging is effective at all.

Sort:  

You bring up good points, and ones I've been wondering, too. I've looked to see if someone actually looked into this and posted their results, but so far, I haven't found anything. I need to learn more about how to query the blockchain for more than just account names I already know.

At any rate, if it's annoying clutter but unprofitable for the spammers, then while it makes Steemit look bad and potentially less attractive perhaps, the rewardpool is relatively unabused. If it is taking a significant toll, then there needs to be an efficient way to combat it. Flagging, education, what have you.

Kind of sounds cavalier and all about the money, doesn't it? I really don't intend it that way. I do care about quality content.

I hate personally expending resources (which I don't have so I haven't attempted any flagging yet), or see others who do have resources expending so much, especially if it is either a losing battle or a an unseemly but low profit wasteland.

I think we all need to know that, and then maybe adjust strategies accordingly.

I agree! I was trying to read posts under the tag news the other day. One post I read, thought it well written, was about to upvote and comment when I realized it was just a copy/paste from a real news article. Then there are bots now that generate news posts? WTH? I won’t be looking in that tag again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67232.05
ETH 3746.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64