No more ugly monkeys!

in #spam6 years ago

If you remember about @steem-network I have written a post about them this week, called Help me with a flag saying that they have been spamming the same comment to the introduceyourself tag in order to gain followers.

They were pretending to be an official account helping people promote themselves on the platform, but the thing that they were doing was a pretty tricky system of vote for vote exchange in which they would have been the most voted users.

Since then, in just three days, they managed to gain over 600 followers and make over 5000 spam posts, mostly comments, having a reputation of around 30. Right now they have been flagged so much that their reputation decreased below 0 so the spam was almost stopped.

no monkey.PNG

Nobody can stop them posting the same comments, but their comments are not visible anymore. A newcomer has to put some effort to be fooled by this account right now.

Firstly they will have to click on the Show button next to the hidden comments section

show.PNG

Then they will be prompted to another message on which they see that there is a comment from this account, but it is low rated and it is still hidden

low rated.PNG

Then if someone decides to read this comment too, pressing Reveal Comment they will still be able to read that spammy comment, but the users still can chose to see the ugly monkey or not

no more ugly monkey.PNG

So, there is no more ugly monkeys for everybody! Thank you for reading and the guys who contributed flagging them, thank you for your support in cleaning this place.

Sort:  

Oooohhhh. Good news! I remember ypur post about those spammers last week! And it's nice to know that the action you moved against them was successful. Good job on that! I hope these spammers learned their lesson. Lol

I am happy too because I was able to help a bit this place. Unfortunatele those spammers did not learnt anything or so I think. I guess itwas just a bot which was released over Steem so it does't care about flags or about what people say. At least their comments aee not visible now :)

Well it's good to hear that your efforts have paid off! We need more people like you here in the community specially for newbies so they are warned about these bots/spammers. Thanks for your great effort. I myself has learned a lot from you too. Also, let me just let you know that I recently made a post about my first week here on steemit. And I am happy to say I mentioned you in that post, giving you my thanks for being part in helping me here in Steemit.

Oh, this is overwhelming :)

Thanks for spreading the word :) Now they're -1 and my friend flagged them.

Yep, I am so glad they went down, their comments were really inrussive and they were also trying to trick people they were an official Steem team. That account deserves this reputation

Great to hear that!!

Yep, thanks for coming by!

Thank you for the awareness. I have no idea they were not official... I just started here 2 days ago. (´∩`。)

Welcome here! I know, they were targeting the newcomers who are not yet so informed about how the site is working. It is also hard to learn most of the things about it, it has a big learning curve so to understand why it is not an official account,it can be pretty hard. At first I didn't even knew that @catfacts is just a bot and I was replying to its comments :))

Julius Ceasar, Henri II, Charles XI, and Napoleon were all afraid of cats.

Really? Pussies!

Cats have 300 million neurons; dogs have about 160 million

Me neither! I didn't know it's okay to have bots around here (ノ゚0゚)ノ~
I still have a lot to learn. I really hope I can catch up with all you guys here; the rules, the culture and how everything work (◕‿◕✿)

You will,for sure you will. Everybody is still learning :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69865.26
ETH 3687.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25