You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BEWARE - I'm FIGHTING Spam In My Comment Section From Now On

in #spam6 years ago

I have noticed the comments that you allude to. Naturally, they appear to be getting worse.

The most perplexing are the ones that come from, as you say, Wikipedia. I actually give them credit for being novel in that regard, I would never have thought of that. For the first couple times, I even upvoted some of them...until I saw it over and over.

I commend you for the intention to flag those who are spamming your comment section. The sad reality is, will it really do any good? From what I understand many of the "great post. thank you..resteemed" nonsense are just bots. After that, the copy/paste from Wikipedia I doubt will even notice....they throw up their post and move on.

Granted it will make your comment section a bit easier to scroll through with that stuff faded out. Nevertheless, I noticed those post and go so flagging them only might use up your SP.

But worth a shot.

Sort:  

The Wikipedia bot/human sounds hilarious. At least the first couple of times.. Haven’t gotten that one yet only the “nice post” comments still. I guess they come when you hit it big. Yes that is actually kind of creative compared to the same old predictable ones.

I think flag or just raise awareness will do some good since it will start a larger discussion about how you could solve the low quality comment issue. Think a solution will come eventually especially when we consider all the hard problems the Blockchain has already solved with math. This should be no issue in the future when we come together to experiment and find a solution!

When someone is using an aggressive tactic like using bots any little resistance we could put up is good. Because that will make them be aware that there are limits on what you could do.

The scroll in the comment section speaking about that I think the website needs to look over that a bit since I noticed some real lag when there are super many comments. This is both on mobile and desktop.

I dont believe the WIkipedia posters are bots....but they are annoying. Every post they put something up that at first looks well written...yet after a while you notice it is too well written.

And yes I get a ton of the nice post resteem stuff.

Yes they don’t fit into the world that we want to create. Every second they take in attention from us we find annoying. Whatever steals time and attention needs to be solved so we could move faster into a better world with more value.

A comment form that has somewhat alarmed me is the plagiarising of another comment while rewording it. For example:

A type of post that has given me pause is the copying of other posts using different phrases.

I don't see this a lot, but there are enough comments like that I do see (and I know I'm not seeing even very many of them) that there must be a particular automated, or standard method, for doing it.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88