You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BEWARE - I'm FIGHTING Spam In My Comment Section From Now On

in #spam6 years ago

I agree that Spam in the comment section of Steemit is incredibly annoying. So I am very interesting to see if flagging spam in your posts will decrease the amount of Spam you will get in the Future. Currently i have the feeling that flagging is only a waste of voting power and does not really reduce the amount of Spam because there is just too much of it.

Sort:  

That's possible and we will see how it goes. I think that if I keep to my own blogpost, I will clean up my corner of steem. Maybe if more people do this, the message will be clear across the board "as a culture". Since I have 360,000 SP + a reputation fo 73, that should be enough of a deterrent. But let's ee.

I think you're right. It's not necessarily a total waste of voting power because if people get burned more than once, they will probably learn not to do it again. At least in your corner of steem, like you said. Like when you're a kid and you burn your hand on the stove so you remember to never do it again.

Sometimes I can't tell if people are spamming or if they are just from another country and their English isn't that great. Those ones I feel kind of bad for, because I feel like maybe they tried really hard to make their English make sense, but it just doesn't.

I'm sure after a little more time on here, though, I will be able to tell the difference.

It's nice of you to at least warn people about it so they have a chance to change without getting "punished" per say.

Good point. Also, people from many non-english speaking countries have a very different idea of social media so there might be friction there. But hopefully, they will organize themselves like the Korean did with #kr and the french with #fr so that they can converse in their own language.

Funny you said that, I had the same thought before! But then I thought "what if they're from some third world place where hardly anyone has access to internet and they can't form a big enough group?" And then I thought"at least they're not cat-fishing." But you make a good point. Who knows.

ENGLISH: Hi, @Cryptoctopus I was flaged for you. That action lowers my self-esteem. I wrote you a comment in good faith. When I saw that, I did not know why. And I think I came to the conclusion that it was because I wrote badly, because I saw the video and I understood the post's message. I have been studying English for 2 years and since I came to Steemit it has helped me a lot to learn the language. What happened is scary to continue commenting because I am aware that my English is not all good yet. If this was annoying for you I apologize. Here I have an invoice from my student at the "Welcome" institute to certify this. See you. Hugs.

SPANISH: Hola @Cryptoctopus. Fui flageado por ti. Esa acción me bajo la autoestima. Te escribí un comentario con buena fe. Cuando vi eso, no supe porque. Y creo que llegue a la conclusión que fue por escribir mal, porque vi el vídeo y entendí el mensaje del post. Estoy estudiando ingles hace 2 años y desde que llegue a Steemit me sirvió mucho para aprender el idioma. Esto que paso me da miedo a seguir comentando porque soy consciente que mi ingles no es del todo bueno aun. Si esto fue molesto para ti te pido perdón. Aquí tengo una factura de mi cursado en el instituto "Welcome" para certificar esto. Me despido. Abrazos.

Factura Matias..png

One thing I note regarding such spam is that it is generally from newer users, of which there are evergrowing numbers. While burning your hand on the stove if informative, it is also instructive to note that such burning is not informative to folks that didn't see it, or do it themselves.

With a tsunami of new users, I fear the flaghammer may prove necessary to wield forever. However, insofar as it is informative to each spammer on each post, I will hope that it has a salutary effect that benefits the community.

I also hope that it doesn't discourage too many newbs that just don't know better, or whose English hasn't reached a point where they're capable of knowing better, as it seems to have @hestiafull.

Thank you man. I hope that flag does not affect my reputation. What do you think?.

The affect on your reputation is immediate. It did affect your reputation, but little enough if you note no numerical difference.

You're good, my friend!

Thank you very much friend. I was a little worried. Because it was not with bad intentions.

Same! Hope it didn't discourage, which is why I think a warning would be nice first. I hope also that people don't get flagged for not having perfect English

Why does the reputation score matter when flagging? I understand the % of voting power * SP will lower the posts rewards by that amount. With so many different factors in Steemit it becomes confusing sometimes.

Anyway glad to hear more people are taking the spam seriously and hopefully a system is put in place that makes it more automated.

Their reputation will also be affected.

Does reputation have any direct effect on the reward payments? Or just the fact that it makes your look good or bad to the community?

I don't remember the post, but someone did a study on reputation and post rewards. While it might not have a direct impact on post rewards once you hit a reputation above 60 your rewards from posts really start to grow.

It may just be time on platform, but the graph that was provided was pretty convincing.

I will search for the post. Thanks.

I believe it was a post by @paulag, and within the last month, IIRC.

Hope that helps!

When I flag spam, unless it is particularly offensive, I do so at a small percentage just to make it less visible.

I don't think it will have a big impact but it's worth doing just to tidy up the comments section. If you have a lot of SP it won't take a big vote to hide a comment.

@tonimontana thanks a lot on ur comment, cose u are making a point on @cryptoctopus writing, most ppl just want to be the first to comment, without taking their time to read through to enable them know what to reply. It always painful to see off comment. Thanks for this and i wish this message u drop with us will enable them know what is need doing well. @cryptoctopus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91