The dark side of sweet people

in #spanish6 years ago (edited)

darkside.png

I have an observation, a little hypothesis of mine about the TV shows that sweet people enjoy.

Now, let me define sweet people : We are kind, smiley, optimistic, we share nice posts, we are on the motivational side of the world, we don’t like cursing, we are sometimes rather naïve people… but I believe we like some dark TV shows.

For me it all began with Law and order criminal intent… then it was CSI, Criminal Minds, Breaking bad, OITNB... and that sort of shows… I can’t resist binge watching Nat Geo’s Airport security . In fact, just a couple of hours ago, I was watching a documentary about the Manson family. We like those shows, but we don’t say it too loud, so if you were taking a look at my blog’s home, you wouldn't find any evidence of such entertainment preferences (that is, besides this post).

I think it could be explained by saying we need some Criminal fiction (or documentary) to balance so much sweetness on our side, or to be aware that horrible things happen in the same world we live in, although we don’t experience them. Maybe it helps us staying alert, to protect ourselves or our loved ones from the dangers of this society.

Or maybe, just maybe deep down inside we are just a bunch of sociopaths too!

I don’t know, it’s just a silly observation I’ve been having for years…. Maybe you could help me prove it. Do you fit in my “sweet people”definition? What sort of TV shows are your “guilty pleasures” ?

Do you have any “sweet“ friends? Can you tell what they enjoy watching? Would you ask them what they think about the shows I mentioned? Their answers might surprise you!

Do you have a different perspective about it? Let’s see if this theory has any future at all!

@empathetic

Tengo una observación, una pequeña hipótesis acerca de los programas de televisión que le gustan a las personas dulces .

Pero primero, permitanme definir “personas dulces": somos amables, sonrientes, optimistas, compartimos lindas publicaciones, estamos en el lado motivacional del mundo, no nos gusta decir malas palabres, a veces somos más bien ingenuos …pero yo creo que nos gustan unas series de televisión bastante oscuras.

Para mí, todo empezó con Law and order criminal intent… luego fue CSI, Criminal Minds, Breaking bad, OITNB... y ese tipo de series… No puedo resistirme a un maratón de Alerta Aeropuerto de Nat Geo. De hecho, justo hace un par de horas, estaba viendo un documental acerca de la Familia Manson. Nos gustan esos shows, pero no lo decimos a viva voz, de manera que, si le dieras un vistazo a mi blog en este momento, no verías indicio alguno de esos gustos, (a excepción de esta publicación, claro está).

Creo que una explicación puede ser que necesitamos algo de ficción (o documental) criminal para balancear toda esa dulzura que tenemos de nuestro lado. O para estar conscientes de que ocurren cosas horrbles en el mundo en que vivimos , aunque no las experimentemos. Quizá nos ayuda a permanecer alerta, para protegernos a nosotros mismos o a nuestros seres queridos de los peligros de esta sociedad

O tal vez, muy en el fondo, ¡somos también un montón de sociópatas!

No sé, esta es una tonta observación que he venido teniendo durante años. Quizá puedas ayudarme a probarla. ¿Encajas en mi definición de "persona dulce"? ¿Qué tipo de shows son tu "placer culposo"? ¿Tienes amigos “dulces”? ¿te atreverías a adivinar cuales series disfrutan? ¿Les preguntarías qué piensan sobre las que menciono aquí? ¡Las respuestas podrían sorprenderte !

Tienes una perspectiva distinta al respecto? Veamos si existe algún futuro para mi teoría.

@empathetic

Sort:  

Or maybe just maybe deep inside we are a bunch of sociopaths too

I laughed when reading that!

I don’t consider myself a sweet, nice, person. I do consider myself loving though. I have lots of love to give ❤️ and am currently enjoying watching “The Good Place.”

It’s a Netflix series about the afterlife. I don’t watch too much tv 📺 but when I watch it. I watch it.

heheh, I guess It was a terrifying possibility. But it was also meant to make you laugh... so, yayyy! . Sure you are one lovely person... why didn´t I include "loving" in my description?
I watch the Good place too... In fact, your comment reminded me that I´ve missed one or two chapters. Sometimes I´m like Chidi! hahaha unable to decide. Thanks for your support!

buenísimo!! muchas gracias por tomarme en cuenta.

I think people categorise me under sweet people although I don't naturally say I am sweet. It sounds funny to me.

I am just me.

And I love horror movie since young. Chucky. Puppet. I wasn't afraid eventhough after I watched them. I didn't have unnecessary imagination as well. Just knew they were just movie.

I love those superheroes show too like Heroes. But they stopped it halfway.

And I read R. L. Stine horror story books when i was young too. Not a sociopath as well. Lol.

Well guess we are just different. Sweet and peculiar?

Thanks for sharing...so you don't watch the shows I mention, but Chucky...I think it counts as all of them together! Hahaha .
I love that you say that you are just you, I think we have more freedom without labels. But at least in your picture,you look sweet to me :) thanks for stopping by

Only watched CSI and the rest I haven't watched eventhough I have heard of them. 😊

Yes chucky... And I was only 10 years old or 12 years old.. That young.

But now I have children so I no longer watch. Coz I notice my eldest son would have bad dream even just by a glimpse of a zombie poster. Lol

jajaa - ups, creo que no me agrada saber que soy una persona dulce, ¡quiero ser mala! jajaa
Mis amigos y familiares dicen que soy dulce y que no me sale ser mala así que bueno, no lo puedo esconder aunque mi rebelde-yo-interno quiera u.u
A mi igual me gustan las series y películas de terror, de suspenso las de sci-fi. Apoyo lo de eso de balancear como somos jaja aunque si hay periodos de misantropía donde no quiero ver a los humanos por días y ya luego se me pasa jaja.

Jeje, gracias por contestar mis preguntas, en serio me preguntaba si son cosas que observo solo en mi círculo de conocidos o si es algo mas global. Me dio risa eso de que no te sale ser mala... te entiendo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71452.56
ETH 3843.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44