You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Close Encounter With a Dangerous Cult (that you've probably never heard of)

in #speakyourmind6 years ago

Awesome post.
Honestly, even just the name had me raise an eyebrow. It sounds like the name of not just a cult, but one that will do anything to complete it's goals.
Interesting as well that they chose the same modus operandi as some scammers. That is, the draw of money, in combination with winning a contest, to cloud your vision. You go in feeling like you're special, ripe for manipulation.

Sort:  

Grateful for your enthusiastic, thoughtful response, @geekpowered. Y’know, I took a moment (as I say in my post) deciding whether or not to share this story.

But, I was truly appalled by how this cult manipulated what was best in people - ethics, seeking to tell the truth, courage, critical thinking - towards their own perverted purposes..

My hope is that my post might actually be of help to someone on Steemit, either in not falling for a similar situation or getting out of one.

But is that not the way of humanity? We put the cheese upon the mousetrap, and wait for it to snap the necks of those that come to claim the prize we put out for them to die for.

Ouch... I think there’s truth there. The same way noble values -like courage and love of one’s country- can be distorted by cynical leaders who send the young & idealistic to fight unholy wars, driven by greed & lust for power.

Ah, Humanity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91