RACISM OR TRIBALISM?

in #speakyourmind6 years ago

While I think that both are foolish, I do believe that there is a difference.


Two months ago, I began sharing some of my thoughts about racism in my post Rascism : What a Stupid Idea. I plan on sharing a bit more with increased frequency, because unfortunately this is an issue that still persists around the world. It is the purpose of this post to define what I am talking about when I use the term "racism" and differentiate it from what I would call "tribalism."

While I think that both racism and tribalism are foolish mindsets for one to have, I do believe that there is a difference.

TECHNICAL DEFINITIONS

I will start by sharing the "technical definitions" of each word and then progress from there.

RACISM:

a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race
source


TRIBALISM:

tribal consciousness and loyalty; especially : exaltation of the tribe above other groups
source


While racism could be a type of tribalism, I believe that it is much more destructive and insidious. I will get into more about why I believe so in the next post, but want to share some examples of what I believe to be forms of tribalism, to illustrate the difference between it and racism.

TRIBALISM

While some people groups around the world do still exist as an actual tribe, I believe that tribalism manifests itself in many foolish ways.

It can be something as foolish as being from "the other side of the tracks" or the "wrong side of town." Certain gang mentalities can also play a role in this, but regardless of the root cause or main driving factor, I believe that this is a most foolish perspective to choose.

In situations like this, nothing else is really considered, so "race" doesn't come into play. For some foolish reason people just choose to hate the other people for something as foolish as what neighborhood they live in, or what side of town they are from.

Then, on their same side of town they fight among themselves by creating other tribal alliances. If someone is in another group, set, or gang, they are suddenly the enemy. It may simply be shown by wearing a different color or some other arbitrary sign. Personally, I think it is a terrible testimony to how lame we have become, when we are willing to fight against someone else for reasons like this.

Oh, do you like a different sports team than I do? Well, if "your team" beats "my team" I just might have to show you what's up! Somehow, people actually get carried away with stuff like that, even turning it into life and death situations.

I believe that tribalism is just another "divide and conquer" strategy to keep the "peons" fighting among themselves so they won't care what the elite upper crust is up to. After all, when the guy next door may shoot you on your way to the corner store, how much thought do you put into generational warfare slowly destroying the future of your children and grandchildren? Most likely, not much. After all, foolish tribalism and fighting with someone else who is essentially you will take up enough of your time and give you enough to deal with.

I'm not saying "the poor" need to fight "the rich" or anything like that, only that some people have managed to put themselves in far more control than others, and they frequently take calculated steps to make sure that they maintain that power. Part of this includes thinking way into the future, even generations. When many people only think about today, tomorrow, or the weekend, they are often too nearsighted to really even grasp things beyond that, which immediately sets them at a disadvantage, and tribalism is just another tactic employed to encourage such nearsightedness.

RACISM

As I mentioned earlier, racism can be seen as a type of tribalism, but I think that the real issue with racism goes much deeper than many even realize anymore. Just like the foolish forms of tribalism I mentioned above, racism can lead to a lot of hatred, violence, and even murder... if not genocide.

While many people these days are against racism, I believe that few people really understand a lot of the modern root causes for this mindset. Also, I think that many who are against racism actually believe in a lot of things that, if driven to their logical conclusions, are in fact racist.

I know that sounds kind of harsh, but I do believe it to be true. I think that racism may just be the tip of an iceberg in our modern societies, and I would rather attempt to pull that particular weed out by the roots, and destroy the foundation, rather than just fight against a symptom of the actual problem.

Feel free to share any of your thoughts so far, or you can check out my previous post by clicking the link below.

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Thanks for articl . We live and don't think much how many cruelty and real problems around us because of racism . I think the most horrible things is that many people who lives in society with such problem become hostages of processing inside society . Children are educated in condition of violence , idea that all others are enemy ..

Hi! This is good. Our pastor just did a sermon on what he termed "group pride"...and how Jesus went loved to hated in his own home town synagogue. And sadly how we as Christians can still do the same. It was pretty convicting as I could suddenly see how I had been a part of this in the past. Anyways....thanks for this article.

Loading...

I assume all this has its origins in prehistoric times of the humans.
For the early humans - end even the pre-human species - it was essential to stick together as tribe or family clan.It was simply a matter of survival to think "Our clan first". This is embedded deep in our psyche even today.
Only, today the structure of the society is totally different, and most of all the size of the "clans".
One could say, we should be able to control those old instincts since we can think and make reasonable decisions. But that doesn't always work, obviously.

Race is absolutely a political construct and has been used to divide people and therefore - control them. it is also linked to socioeconomic status.
When Italians and Irish first immigrated to the US, they were considered non-white. Now, the passport says white.
Opposite to that, Mexicans used to be considered white - when most Mexicans in California and Texas were rich ranchers. Now, Mexicans are considered non-white.
Nobody's skin tone has changed during the passport designated race change - only the amount of money the average person has.....
This control mechanism plays out all over the world over and over again and it is unfathomable how many have died because of this institution of race.
Time to change - I hope that our time is that.

what about monkeysphereism?

Ok so first of all - great article.

It took me three days to read, I didn't know it was legal to write articles that long anymore. But it was a hilariously cracked way of explaining brain chemistry! Thanks for the share and the goofy image to draw my attention to it!

THREE DAYS!
(choke)
It took me...er...well never mind.

This is why I always end up with dozens of open tabs!

Racism is like the weather. It's not the heat it's the humidity. It's not the hate it's the stupidity.

LOL! Interesting take! 1st time I've heard that!

it's all kinf of cannibalism lol ☺

Brief discussion. You aalways try to focus on your thought. And you do it vary simply. That's why I always follow your post. Keep writing.
I have my own thought on Racism, I'll share it later. Now I'm going to work.

what i dont understand is why someone will feel superior over another because of the person's skin color

It's really a lame worldview.

anybody that hates me because of my skin color, if i get hold of the person i will beat him. lol

But only beat them up because of their skin color.... right? LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87