Spinning yarn, part 3

in #spinning6 years ago (edited)

I finally had the chance to get my daughter to help me so that I could make one more video, about plying, so that I could continue this series about spinning.

d8be017eac40a16914e9343d9c18e5ca.jpg

Let's get the singles ready first.
When spinning you're going to need to start again, without it showing. It took me a while to figure this out, I often ended up with a loose end in the middle of the single and I just cut it off after plying.
Now I draft the end to get it thinner and let it run into the yarn like I show in this video. I think the video shows more than I can explain, but I put the end into my hand to keep it from getting tangled into the wool.

The next video is just to show more of how I spin, adjusting both wool and the yarn and starting again. I can let the wheel continue to spin even if I need to adjust anything as long as I keep the pinch! When I started to spin I had to stop the wheel, but the more I spin the better I get at adjusting while the wheel continues to spin.

I also want to mention my wheels ratio. When I treadle the flyer is going to turn at a certain ratio. I can adjust my wheel from ratio 7 to 17. Ratio 7 means that every time my big wheel turns the flyer turns 7 times. The lower ratio works for me, I couldn't keep up if I had any higher ratio. You need a lower ratio to spin thick singles that you don't ply, to make thinner singles to ply you use a higher ratio. If you're thinking about buying a wheel, the ratio and the flyers ability is something you need to look into more. I could buy another flyer to this wheel to get more options, but I'm content with it the way it is. If I was about to buy a wheel I would choose a wheel that gives me more options. If you want to read more about different wheels you can do it here: https://woolery.com/spinning-wheels/selecting-a-spinning-wheel.html

Let's move on to plying. You've now got two bobbins with singles that you need to ply to get a yarn. I use a lazy Kate without a brake that takes three bobbins. I always put the lazy kate on the floor while I'm plying.
20171201_220353.jpg
I put a bobbin with a starter yarn in my wheel just like I did when I started to spin, only this time I attach the two singles to the starter yarn with a knot. When plying you turn your wheel counter clockwise.

I use my right hand to keep the singles apart and then I pinch with my left when I'm letting the yarn wind up on the bobbin. Once I get the yarn on the bobbin I let go of the pinch and let it twist again in front of me. I can see how much twist I got when I'm doing it like this, but you can also ply using the pinch like you do while spinning a single allowing the yarn to twist above the pinch. I've done both and I get a more even yarn when I let it twist in front of me so that I can see. I think that it could be easier if you move back from the wheel just a bit if you're going for the pinch, you need to keep the singles apart either way.

20171201_222750.jpg

I overtwist my yarn when I ply, that means that I put more twist than what is needed to make a balanced yarn. I let it rest on the bobbin for at least a couple of days so that the overtwist settles more before I make a skein and wash it. In the beginning I was plying with less twist and then I ended up with a yarn that wasn't even and sometimes it looked like it wouldn't hold together, that's why I let it twist a bit to much. Making a skein and washing it is the last step to finish the yarn and I'll tell you more about that in the next part.

20171201_232141.jpg

I hope you enjoyed watching this and that you'll stay tuned for the final part!

Until next time, be well.
//S

Sort:  

Very cool! I have a friend who is an accomplished spinner and has let me muck about with her supplies on occasion, this is a very impressive skill!

How nice to have be able to give it a try! I hope you liked it!

This is a talent that probably only a few people can say they have attempted, accomplished or conquered.

Great videos to go along with your written description.

Thank you! I'm not so much for making videos, but for this I felt I needed to. I just hope that I'll encourage someone to give it a try!

Same here, I don't do videos. Some days I wish I was more photogenic and all, but when it comes down to it, I prefer the written word

I think that's the best part of steemit. You get to have both :-)

So nice! Once I saw the process in a knitting group and it became my dream to make my own yarn in the future :)

I hope you find your way to spinning your own yarn. I never thought that I would spin, but then I got my spinning wheel and now it's one of my favourite things to do :-)

I'm so glad to have come across this article! I'm looking into purchasing a breeding pair of Angora rabbits so I'd really like to learn to spin. 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55