Is Your Root Chakra Unbalanced?

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Grounded. Security. Energy

Having a balanced root chakra is vital to knowing who you are, where you are going and feeling fully secure in trusting the universe. You can spend so long focusing on building your inner confidence (solar plexus chakra), relationships (heart chakra) or even creativity (sacral chakra) and thinking that focusing on that will make you secure. In reality, those areas can never flourish if your root and sense of self is not balanced and stable first.

I personally am not naturally a very grounded person. My natal chart is all water signs, which means my head is always in the clouds daydreaming. I have a very active heart chakra, third eye and crown. I often need to be "brought back to earth" and focus on material issues at hand. When I am back down at the root I begin to feel worried, anxious, etc. I always want to be fully balanced but I am not the type of person who can sit down with a guided chakra meditation everyday to balance myself. I wanted to find quick and easy ways to be able to balance my root chakra so that it supports the other areas of my being. I did research and found these easy solutions that you can add to your daily routine that will help to ground you. Currently I am balanced in my root chakra, but mostly because I follow these steps daily. I wanted to share them with you and also have this as a reference to myself, instead of flipping through old notebooks where I wrote all of this down. :)

What are chakras?


Chakras are energy centres located at different points in the body which are connected to major nerves and organs. It is essential to our psychological, emotional and spiritual well being to have all these points fully open and balanced. There are 7 chakras and each one has a different vibration frequency and has a specific function.

The root chakra

The root chakra is the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine. It is linked to you feeling fully secure in the world. It is the raw survival energy that every human has. When this chakra is balanced you feel confident, know your place in the world and are fully grounded and secured with your basic needs. Once this area is balanced you are able to move on to focusing on balancing the other chakras. Without a stable foundation you will never feel completely at ease.

Is your root chakra imbalanced?

Look at this chart and keep a tally of how many you can relate to on either side. If you feel there are a few that are in the unbalanced category then scroll down to see easy ways to bring balance back to yourself!

😢 Unbalanced 😢 😄 Balanced 😄
Controlling of others
Accepting of others
Quick to anger
In control emotionally
Lack of confidence
Confident
Worried about finances
Feeling supported
Worry basic needs not met
Can provide for self
Obsessed with money
Feeling financially secure
Unable to let go, allow change
Trusting in life
Feeling "stuck"
Know direction and purpose
Greediness
Giving freely
Impatient
Trust in divine timing
Feel world on shoulders
Feeling at ease
Lack of focus and motivation
Focused and motivated

Do you feel you have all that you need to live comfortably?
How are you financially? Struggling or balanced?

Balancing the root chakra

If you have discovered that your root chakra is imbalanced, do not worry! I am here to give you a list of very simple things you can do starting right now to balance the energy there. Do these everyday until you can look at this list and agree with more balanced statements.

1. Go for a walk

Walking grounds your feet to the energy of the earth and your connection to it's stability. You will feel a lot more recharged and balanced after doing this. It is especially beneficial to walk on an unpaved path, or even barefooted to really connect. You can even focus on roots growing out of your feet and connecting you into balance of the earth.

2. Put on music and dance

Yes, dance like nobody is watching (even if someone is) not only does this boost your happiness levels and ground you, it also helps to balance your throat at the same time (being able to communicate more freely) if you also sing along. Even if you can't dance, just do it anyways! You will instantly be radiating positive energy.

If you are for sure not a dancer you can listen to music that is specifically related to balancing the root chakra while you work, clean, sleep etc. Like this example

3. Take a mindful shower

This is a great way to really cleanse your root chakra. It is so refreshing and we always feel more positive after doing it. Some of the best ideas come to people when they are in the shower. Bonus points if you take it mindfully. Really taking your time and being fully present in the moment. A warm shower will help you feel more secure with yourself, while a cold one will snap you out of any negative emotions you may feel.

4. Yoga or exercise

There are many great yoga poses related to the root chakra. Even if you have never done yoga and are not flexible, there is nothing more refreshing to your mind and body than to stretch. These stretches are pretty simple for anybody to do. Just give it a try! Do it every morning or when you are feeling negatively about things concerning root.
Some recommended yoga poses are (click the name to see an image of the pose) : Downward dog, Warrior 1, Warrior 2, Forward Bend, or a Simple Sequence. Exercises focused on your legs and lower half of your body are also great for balancing.

5. Positive affirmations

Speak out loud to yourself, read or write down positive affirmations related to the root chakra. This will instantly boost your vibration and confidence about yourself and what you deserve. Here are some examples, but feel free to add your own based on what you want to feel. Stop thinking negatively! Instantly replace any negative thoughts with a positive affirmation and not only will you feel grounded, but you will also attract positivity.

I am grounded. I have all that I need. I am where I need to be. I am at peace with my surroundings. I am powerful. I am open to possibilities. I am wealthy. I am radiant. I am grounded like a tree. I am on a true path for this life. Security and stability in life allow me to be confident with who I am. I feel safe and secure. I trust myself. I am grateful I have all that I need. I am worthy of all things wonderful.

6. Crystals

Carrying crystal gemstones related to the root chakra will help to balance your energy. There are many options such as jewelry, key chains, small ones you carry in your pocket or large ones you place in your home. Crystals act like an energy conduit for drawing in positive energy and removing negative from the wearer. The best ones for balancing the root chakra are : red jasper, bloodstone, red carnelian, garnet, hematite and black tourmaline. If there are no shops that sell these around you there are many sellers on amazon, ebay and etsy who sell great pieces!

7. Organizing

Putting your home together and cleaning your space, especially junk drawers, will help to rid you of negative and stagnant energy and bring more structure to your mind. There is nothing more satisfying and emotionally balancing than a clean space, and especially opening up a drawer and having it be neat and organized. Mess is bunched up negative energy, so get rid of it! You will feel much lighter after.

Wishing you all the best on your journey to inner balance!

❤️

Sources : 1 - 2 - 3 - 4

Sort:  

Muladhara FTW :::)

Ooo.. your art is so awesome!!!

TY follow back :::)

Beautiful post

Thank you so much!

Thanks for sharing your advices.
Sometimes I try balancing them with breathing. Can't say if it works but breathing properly helps me to have a peaceful mind.

Yes, breathing with focused intention is also really good at balancing your root energy, especially if you visualize the color red or roots growing into your feet at the same time!

True - visualizing helps a lot. Didn't know about the red roots though.

I pretty much do everything except crystals. Another thing that works for me is to turn the focus away from myself and make someone else feel better. Practicing empathy and compassion.

Compassion and empathy for sure makes you feel better, it is more heart chakra in nature. The root is more focused on self, the raw physical needs and feeling fully secured in those areas. Some examples are when someone is worried about money, don't sleep enough, don't eat enough, insecurity with themselves, don't know what to do with their life. Kind of like the Manslow hierarchy of human needs and the safety one being balanced before you are able to focus on truly being your best in relationships or self-actualization.

Yes, it's very similar to the Hierarchy of Needs. I have the book "Toward a Psychology of Being". I tend to focus on the heart chakra. I'm too much of a feeler, I haven't truly mastered my emotions.

You should focus on every chakra to be able to balance the heart, it might be overactive

Nice, some good advice there, I had been feeling a bit unbalanced going into 2018. Seems to be leveling out now. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67