Hi Everyone! My name is Daryl... or...

in #spirituality5 years ago

I actually like having a nickname to go by. The first nickname I ever had was Dee. From second grade through sixth grade everyone, including my teachers called me Dee. After my father died, when I was 11 years old I went back to just being called the name he had chosen for me at birth, Daryl. The next time I felt like changing my name was in my early 30s, after I had a dramatic spiritual awakening, and the name that I "felt like" using was Darragh (pronounced Dara). I had spent some time living in Ireland in my early 20s, and felt a strong affinity with the place and culture, so I felt justified in making this adjustment to Daryl. 20 more years later I went through another big life change. I had a mental breakdown and it was determined that I was suffering from bipolar disorder. Around that time the film Donnie Darko was a big hit, and I really identified with the main character. So I started to call myself Daryl Darko, online. That pseudonym has stuck on me hard. I still go by it, even though I'm starting to feel like it might be time to either return to Darragh, or maybe simplify even more and just go with Dee again. Only a few people that are close to me call me Darko, except all the baristas that I am chummy with know me strictly by that name, haha ;)

Well, that was a lot more talk about my name than I've ever indulged in before. Weird, and sorry, ha.

I'm still trying to figure my life out, but I can say for sure that I am more interested in elements regarding spirituality than I am in anything else. Involvements that I've experienced with spiritual organizations, paths, or just philosophies are what predominately drive me. My current spiritual fascination is based on my efforts to become a Reiki practitioner (soon to raise up to Reiki Master). But in my history I've been a pentecostalist, a devotee of a Siddha Guru, a breathworker, and an overall follower of things unusual and weird.

Thanks for reading, and I'll be talking to you again soon!

I have two Instagram accounts. The first one has nearly 10,000 photos in it so I have pretty much stopped posting to it.
https://www.instagram.com/daryldorko/

The second one and the one I post to currently is https://www.instagram.com/dryldrk0/

I am on Twitter as daryldarko https://twitter.com/daryldarko

Here is my last.fm profile - https://www.last.fm/user/daryldarko

This is my Tumblr profile https://www.tumblr.com/blog/diodellamorte

I quit Facebook when Zuckerberg went before congress last year.

These are a couple of photos that were taken of me recently, on top of Mount Diablo, here in the San Francisco Bay Area.

P1780263.jpg

P1780283.jpg

P1780258.jpg

20190303_235706.jpg

p.s. the photo in my avatar is my dad at the age of 13, God rest his soul.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community!

Download the Partiko app below to start earning Partiko points which can be converted into Steem.

Start here - https://partiko.app/referral/jmehta

Thank you! I did download the Partiko app on my phone. Will it also work on a Chromebook?

It will not as of yet, do you use social media? Instagram/Twitter/Youtube?

Congratulations @daryldarko! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steemit @daryldarko. Loved your intro. Many blessings to you !! 🙏💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for taking the time to read, and comment. I really appreciate it. Looking forward to making common minded folks on here, and to find others that can teach me things I don't know how to do. Blessings to you, as well <3

Hello there ! welcome onboard ! That was a nice introduction =)

Thank you for taking the time to read, and comment. I really appreciate it!

Welcome to Steemit @daryldarko, I hope you will have a fun time engaging with the communities in this blockchain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the world of Reiki such a wonderful tool for humanity. I have slacked in my practice recently but have a couple of potential new students so I am getting called back to to energy on a larger scale again which fills me with joy 💯🐒

Congratulations @daryldarko! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56