Bottling up Peace, Wrapped in Blue Dusk

in #spirituality6 years ago

image-2018-06-06 (7).jpg

Warm, wet air hit my lungs. This is the time of year to have my feet thudding on the ground. The sky was muddled with grey stratus clouds just beginning to clear away. There has been too much grey lately. Too much rain hitting the earth, and raining on my life. I’m ready for the clouds to part.

I love the blue light of dusk. I wanted my two friends with me: blue dusk, and the big dog. The big dog is my protector; the blue dusk is my therapist. My two feet hit the pavement, four feet followed, and warm still air blew past us in the blue dusk. I felt a thrill roll through me. I don’t run often, but every now and then I feel the call. The body needs to move swiftly sometimes, airing out the whole system.

image-2018-06-06 (6).jpg

Mocking birds sang in their confused way, desperate to fit in. Mimosa blooms had been manhandled by the rain, knocked roughshod off a tree somewhere. Their perfume filled my nose. The expanse of sky in front of me, opened up by the straight road, was the color of peace. That perfume, that peace— through it I could feel infinity again. Looking up into the clouds—endless, but always out of reach—there was something about life hidden there. Or maybe it was hidden in my mind, and only accessible through looking at that endless sky. The answers were there, just out of reach. A deep breath filled me up, and I was full of that mimosa perfume and the blue dusk.

image-2018-06-06 (5).jpg

Big dog got tired. That heavy coat slowed him down. We stopped and walked, rounding the corner slowly, still chasing the sun. I didn’t want it to leave altogether. I wanted that bit of light, and that brief opportunity. When the light was gone, I would have to go home, and with it goes all that perfection. Life’s answers lost again.

The sun fades fast so late in a day’s life. Gold streaks turn to pink, pink fades to purple, purple to blue, blue to black nothingness. No starlight tonight.

Somehow I need to find a way to carry blue dusk with me, so that I can be with it whenever I like. Starless nights need blue dusk to soothe them. Grey rainy days need blue dusk too. Maybe my pictures have bottled it up, at least just a little bit.

Sort:  

what a wonderful, peaceful picture you paint for us @ginnyannette. you and big dog. Or I guess it's "blue dusk and big dog". I particularly like this.." blue dusk is my therapist."
I bet alot of people can relate to that! great job.

Thank you. Nothing like a jog at sunset to clear a mind.

it's perfect. :)

I believe your photos have bottled up the blue dusk. You can time travel to it through your photos.

A very thought provoking essay.....;)

Thank you. I think I can almost feel it here with me this morning.

The big dog is my protector; the blue dusk is my therapist.

This is so beautiful and your photos given it a beautiful feel too. May all your days be tainted with blue dusks xxx

Thank you. Hope yours are too. Everybody needs some.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Another lovely piece of writing. You have your own distinctive voice, Ginny, and your personality on paper, or on-line, engages the reader. This is the second post of yours that I've read lately that leaves me feeling rested and peaceful.

Have you read May Sarton? Your writing style reminds me of her.

https://www.nytimes.com/1974/04/08/archives/the-rewards-of-living-a-solitary-life.html

I had not read May Sarton, until the article you linked. I do like her voice, and I'm flattered that you compared me to her. I see myself a bit in that young man she mentions. As I get older I am slowly, more and more, becoming comfortable with that voice that is mine.

Thanks so much for your support, I really appreciate it.

Congratulations, your post received 8.24% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

If you ever get into visualization, guided imagery relaxation, blue dusk would be a good place to start.

Hmmm...that's a good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95