You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to Pray

in #spirituality6 years ago

I'm afraid I'm no stranger to heresy, recklessness, or revelry - embracing each and all of them at one point or another... Impatience is certainly the underlying theme. I like to think I'm a lot calmer and more reasonable these days :)

There's a poem in every stanza here, like looking through a kaleidoscope of human experience. The hurry to arrive, the inching towards the checkout - our insecurities and anxieties captured perfectly.

Sort:  

I’m guilty of all you list above, my friend—mostly, on account of impatience & boredom, too.

But, in the case of the mystics (that I’m fawning over, here) I marvel at how they are branded heretics by the uncomprehending, while they observed a higher law.

To the literalists, one set of rules applies, but to ecstatics, who can say what is permitted. Love and do as you will, says St Augustine, a truth echoed by all lovers (as the Sufis refer to themselves).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91