From the Depths of My Spirit

It's amazing :) When I was a teen, I remember suddenly being interested in a book. I started reading it and one particular line struck a chord in me. My inner being somehow vibrated when I read it... and I recall just meditating on that line for some seconds. There was something about those words that stupefied me. I had no idea what it meant. I had no preconceived notions about it but at the time I knew in my spirit, that it was somehow very significant.

20 years later, that line suddenly came back to me when I most needed it. It played a vital role in the spiritual warfare I was taking part in, even if I didn't know what I was doing or why I was doing it.

That line was "Get thee behind me, Satan". It was uttered by Jesus when he discerned the lies coming from the Devil.

I had left the Bible and Christianity in my teens by then. As I rejected an onslaught of messages from demonic spirits (often erroneously taken to be thoughts coming from parts of ourselves), suddenly, that line came to me... and I listened. I felt a kind of energetic tearing within me as I fought back and repeated Jesus' admonishment -- "Get thee behind me, Satan!"

It felt like my soul was peeling away from the hold these spirits had on me.

I had finally started to pay full attention to the Holy Spirit within my own spirit.

After a long journey through and out of the new-age/Eastern spirituality and the psychospiritual healing industry, I finally believe that the Bible is full of highly potent, energetic, spiritual antidotes -- straight from God's Spirit and written through the hands of Spirit-filled human authors. It takes an open spirit to pay attention and use those antidotes; exactly when and as the Holy Spirit shares them.

It took me 20 years... and I'm still learning.


Some of my other Steemit articles:


Living a Life in Truth
Our Inner Demons: Parts of our Personality or Spiritual Entities?



If I have a part to play to help people know GOD, I'd love to help.

Or, if you're spiritually struggling with something or are a troubled Christian and would like to talk, I offer my time freely to encourage others in their own walk with God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. Send me a message through the contact form at my website below and we can schedule a conversation.

Facebook
Website

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61