You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Meditating Is (Slowly but Surely) Changing My Life for the Better

With meditating comes so much hype and bullshit that an average person is put off by it. And rightfully so. I am glad that I learned meditating without ever reading on how it is "supposed to be done". Instead I just started listening to myself and went with the flow. I made up all the techniques that I use and only later found that there are entire tomes written about most of them. No "guru" or whatever conformity was needed.

In the end it is just an exercise for the mind. With immense benefits!

If somebody wants to start with a push in the good direction, UCLA free guided meditations are great. http://marc.ucla.edu/mindful-meditations
Beware of snake-oil salesmen, because big-spirituality is full of them.

Sort:  

Hi, YES, I totally hear you! Thanks for the link, I'll check it out. It's really good to experiment on our own and just find our own rhythm and style, and while it's useful to learn from others and get inspired, it's indeed a trap to just listen to other people and never turning inwards and really find what is most meaningful there. thanks for the comment, stay in touch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69379.42
ETH 3686.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29