You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are We More Than Our Physical Bodies?

in #spirituality5 years ago (edited)

Ha ha, I digged the way you ended this post 😂 not becuase I think it's all BS but just cause it made me chuckle.

The question, 'are we more than our physical bodies?'

I identify as an atheist, so logically many would think my answer would be no. But I remember having a reoccurring experience as a young child where as I was falling asleep it felt like I was on a 'RoundAbout' (MerryGoRound is the american colloquialism) which was going faster and faster. At some point I would feel like I flew off the spinning MerryGoRound and would see myself in my bed below, before it all faded into a dream. I'm aware that what I describe here is classed as an 'out of body' experience. But my atheist side would say that that whole experience was the cause of a hypnagogic state caused by being self-aware in the brief period between being awake and asleep. The fact that it wasn't always followed by flying dreams, or even normal dreams kind of bares this theory out to my mind.

But it has always struck me that it doesn't matter whether it is a function of the subconscious, or if there is some type of higher power/energy which allows humans to be able to make a separation from the body like this. The result is what matters and in that experience I most definitely felt a separation of spirit/personality, whatever it is that I call me inside my head, from my physical body.

These types of questions have always fascinated me as I feel a deep affiliation with nature, wilderness areas and the wildlife I can observe there is what inspires the best of my creative works. If I visit an uninhabited island near where I live and sit observing the seal colony, then poetry just flows is if it's passing through me rather than me writing it. Man.... I guess I'm a bit of a conflicted atheist 😂

What you say about blockchain is what I have hoped it will remain ever since I really started to educate myself about how it truly works

This expression is now showing up in immutable, transparent methods of accounting we call "distributed ledger technology" or simply "blockchains" to create global, non-violent consensus.

It has no governments which hold their monopolies on currency, justice, law, or "defense" using threats of violence. It has abundance for everyone who seeks it. It has freedom, prosperity, joy, and most of all, love.

I feel like this is the greatest potential of blockchain technology and exactly why the people involved now need to focus on protecting it from appropriation by banking and governmental entities. Greed is my biggest concern for the future of this true potential, as if everyone just keeps using the truly decentralized blockchains and cryptocurrencies then the appropriation isn't really possible and the monopolies collapse.

But they will try using greed, the chance to make money through trading etc to try and devalue the blockchains that show all the right qualities you have mentioned; immutable, transparent methods of accounting that can bring global none-violent consensus.

I hope blockchain realizes the potential I saw in it once I'd really started to understand things a bit better, the redistribution and evolution of power structures, as well as economical structures.

I think it still can 🙂

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. I love the exploration of the possible potentials without the labels. "Christian" and "Atheist" really do limit our potentials. I've used labels most of my life, and I realize more and more they aren't really serving me, but the people around me who want to more easily define "me" in their minds. Sometimes I think that's a benefit which may not be that important. Sometimes people are just... different and have to be figured out as individuals.

Yes, labels are useful as a tool for people to classify people. But I've think you hit three nail on the head that it's liberating to but define yourself with labels in your own head, even when those around you need to label you this or that for their own reasons.

I've found myself worrying less about how I define myself as I've grown older and especially in my late 30s where I'm at now. I just don't really need those labels to validate my identity anymore. And I think we as humans can be fluid in our beliefs and psychological make up, in fact it's healthy 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68