Gurugita 024: The severity of Guru Vedadharma’s tests

in #spirituality6 years ago

Gurugita 024: The severity of Guru Vedadharma’s tests

Deepaka could not be deterred even when other disciples tried to pull him down. Instead he strengthened his devotion towards his Guru. Vedadharma realized this and decided to uplift not only Deepaka but also all the other disciples. He decided that the other disciples should realize the intensity of Deepaka’s devotion towards his Guru.

No sooner had he thought like this than his body was badly inflicted with leprosy. His face was repulsive and ugly such that even his disciples were scared to near Him. Vedadharma said to his disciples, “This leprosy is the result of my past actions. Although I possess the capacity to alleviate it, I choose to finish my karma in this birth itself. Hence I have decided to spend my remaining life in Kashi.

Now I want one of you to accompany me to Kashi and attend to my personal needs. The student who accompanies me should unhesitatingly attend to me at all times, clean my pus-infected wounds and complete all my chores. As you know I am short tempered by nature, hence the person should be willing to withstand my intense anger. He should possess limitless patience when dealing with me. Now tell me, is there anyone who is ready to accompany me?”

Vedadharma appeared repulsive with sores all over his body. Terrible stench was emanating from his body. None of the disciples even wanted to look at Him, forget serving Him. Deepaka was the only student who came forward and said, “O Guru, please give this chance to me. I do not feel repulsive upon seeing you. To me, serving you is my greatest fortune”.

Guru and disciple reached Kashi. As soon as they reached Kashi, the leprosy took a turn for the worse. The intensity of Guru’s tests became more severe. The smell from His body was now truly unbearable. Pus and bad blood began to flow freely from the body. Yet without even a second thought Deepaka nursed his Guru night and day. Without a second’s break he worked tirelessly day and night.

While Deepaka was calm and composed, Guru Veda dharma was becoming angrier and irritable by the day. Every minute he would find faults in the service being given to him.

Sort:  

Om Sree Sadgurubhyo Namaha 🌸🌺🌸🙏🏻

Om Sree Sadgurubhyom Namaha !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56