Gurugita 026: Guru Vedadharma showers ultimate boon upon Deepaka

in #spirituality6 years ago

Gurugita 026:Guru Vedadharma showers ultimate boon upon Deepaka

Shiva retorted, “You have rejected my boons. You will pay heavily for this mistake” - saying so Shiva left the place and went directly to Srihari.

Shiva arrived at Vaikuntha, the abode of Lord Vishnu and addressing Him said, “O Lord, Deepaka’s Guru bhakti is astonishing. I had offered him boons, but then he blatantly refused. I admire him and I admire his devotion towards his Guru. In my opinion, there is no devotee like him in this world. I suggest that you too should meet him.”

Hearing this, Vishnu was anxious to meet Deepaka. He descended in Kashi and then standing outside Vedadharma’s hut, Vishnu lovingly called, “Deepaka”. Deepaka was elated to see Srihari. He joyfully and lovingly prostrated before Him. Vishnu applauded him for his devotion towards his master and then asked him to choose any boon. As before, Deepaka politely refused. He said, “My Guru is sleeping. I can’t disturb him now. Please wait till He wakes up”. Vishnu was annoyed hearing this reply, but helpless as he was, he returned back to Vaikuntha.

Meanwhile Vedadharma woke up and called Deepaka, who instantly rushed to attend to His needs. Vedadharma angrily said, “Deepaka, with whom were you joyfully talking? Your chatter disturbed my sleep”.

Politely Deepaka explained that Shiva and Vishnu had arrived and had wanted to give him boons.

“What was your reply?” asked Vedadharma. “I said that I shall reply only after I hear from you”.

“You could have asked something for yourself. Why did you not do so?” asked Vedadharma.

Deepaka closed his eyes earnestly and prayed, “Swami, to me You are Vishnu. You are Shiva. I pray that I should receive boons only from You. Whatever you give is the ultimate for me”.

When Deepaka opened his eyes, neither the hut nor his master were visible. Vedadharma, who appeared before Him glowing with infinite radiance, said, “Deepaka, your Guru bhakti is truly amazing. It even pulled Shiva and Vishnu towards you. I bless you that whosoever thinks of you with faith, will be relieved of all their miseries. They will be rendered prosperous. Guru bhakti will increase in them. You continue to remain in Kashi. I will bless you with all supernatural accomplishments and mastery in Absolute Knowledge. The celestial troops will be at your service”.

It is said that Deepaka’s temple exists in Kashi. This is how a Guru blesses his true disciple. Guru’s tests are varied and harsh at times. He causes wavering in the mind. The dvotee should cross these hurdles.

Deepaka could have easily sought boons from Shiva or from Vishnu. But he did not do so. He could have asked that his Guru’s disease be removed in entirety. Knowing that they were the Supreme Gods, he refrained from asking them anything. He was adamant that boons, if any, should be showered only by his Guru. To him only his Guru was God.

Sort:  

Om sri Sadgurubhyo Namaha 🌺🌼🌺🙏🏻

Om Sree Sadgurubhyom Namaha !! Shivaya Rudraya Namaha !!

Om Sree Sadgurubhyo Namaha 🌺🌼🌺🙏🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61081.38
ETH 2930.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70