You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we admit that we’re all both good and evil to a certain point? What do we enjoy and why?

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Some thoughts I had on evil.
For instance hate is not evil in and of itself i.m.o. It becomes evil if there are deeds done that harm another.
I also think it has a lot to do with consent.
BDSM without consent would be torture.
Sex without consent would be rape.
Taking something from someone without consent is theft.
I personally consider this to be evil.
Hating someone or being envious or wishing someone a disease or so does not harm directly (it is in the thought realm) I think.
If someone hates me they don't harm me. If they do something to me by letting that hate manifesting as a hurtful deed, out of that hate then it's the deed that is evil and harming me in reality. People may hate me all they want they don't owe me anything.

Sort:  

Nice thoughts about hate not being evil, thanks for sharing. I agree, it is just a feeling, if we recognize it, accept it, and handle it well, it will go away over time without us committing any harmful (evil) deeds.

@katarinamiliv explained in her comment how negativity can sometimes even result in something good - like a person with aggressive tendencies who becomes a surgeon, so he saves people's lives while actually immersing into his negativity somehow.

Of course, evil has a lot to do with consent, although consent doesn't necessarily means that we are doing a non-evil thing. For example, a child might accept some form of sexual activity (like touching) with a pedophile, not fully realizing what is going on until much later.

Cheers! : )

I do not quite get the surgeon thing, I would not want to have an aggressive surgeon. I get some horror images lol. But maybe I'm misunderstanding.
But I can see that channeled, focused, controlled "aggression" of a person can help in some situations. Maybe that is what is meant.

With the consent of the child I get that. children are not fully capable to understand the consequenses of what they give consent too. On the other hand sometimes parents go way over the line with their children. Something like "give auntie a hug" (or even strangers for the child) when they clearly don't want to.
And they think thats learning social behavior. But it's not (of course in my opinion) if the child gives the hug it will not be genuine but out of obedience
And even worse, everyone constantly crosses over the childs borders (don't know if borders is the correct word)And you learn the child that if someone older says (maybe strangers) : give me a hug that they do that because they are taught to obey older persons (authority). Plus the child will never learn where his or her own borders lie. it's likely that such a person will grow up not being able to say no. There is always a nuance of course extremely shy children need help to be able to function in life. But of course these are my observations and look on things. I don't know all either. But sometimes it hurts to see how they treat children sort of like they are extreme dumb non-feeling robots who don't have ears.
I do also see great and lovely things that parents do. It's not all bad or so. :)

Cheers :)

Yeah, that is what is meant. Someone who is completely non-aggressive and afraid of blood would hardly be a good surgeon or soldier.

Great example with forced children hugging! That is very other done by old women living in the same building as the child, at least where I come from. :D

The thing is that the vast majority of people is unaware that this is actually child abuse.

By the way, the authority that comes with age is one of the dumbest authorities if you ask me. Of course, someone aged 40 objectively has more authority than someone aged 5, but the problem is that this continues afterwards, and 30 years later, the person that is now 75 years old often is still considered to have more authority than the now 35 year old person.

Cheers! : )

Oh I see, No it's not handy for a surgeon to be afraid of blood.

And a soldier, I agree also, you should be able as a soldier to, harrass and torture people on command, so I agree on the aggression part but as a soldier that is bombing innocent people from a plane or from behind a video screen to "protect your country" , shooting depleted uranium rockets (irak bosnia) on your peace missions and to spread democracy, etc. there the aggression part is not so important then we (the country) are more served by your ability to put your own moral compass aside to say " I just follow orders I just do my job" or a policeman "I don't make the law I just enforce it, So I agree on the aggression part, but ability to blindly obey orders is more important i.m.h.o. or else you get not very useable soldiers, and get what you have now with the american soldiers where there are more soldier killing themselves than that are killed in the war.

The age thing I also agree.

Cheers.

Edited some mistakes and added

Thanks for adding the importance of "blindly obey orders" ability for a "good" soldier. The things that you've described are horrible and unfortunately true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81