You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bots and Splinterlands, a love and hate story!

in #splinterlands4 years ago

I appreciate your post, @elindos. Bots have been a hot topic.
As I stated in Discord, I personally do not like bots, but I'm the first to acknowledge we still need them to make sure players don't time out when looking for an opponent.

Also, there are bots, and there are bots. I don't really have a problem with bots like you described in the first part of your post. I do have a problem with bots that only have a very limited number of cards and dump everything else, enter tournaments (without having the proper cards for it, so they depend on luck to make it to the prize rounds... and often succeed. Not only stalling the tournament, but also taking away rewards from real players without being eligible for those rewards in the first place.), and just milk the system without any other motive than greed.

I also have a lot of respect for your decision not to make the code public. There are already so many bad actors out there... the abuse would get even worse.

but I just could did not want to contribute when so many people were being greedy and disturbing tournaments with their bots

Nicely put. I can get that a programmer develops a bot, for a big part out of the love for programming. Other people have other motives to get their hands on the code: greed being the most important.

We've seen in the past that some sort of 'honor code' seems to be an impossible thing... which I really regret. When there's money involved, there seems to be no such thing as honor for a lot of people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67623.71
ETH 3786.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70