Carolina Senior Blues

in #sport5 years ago

UNC 222.jpg

Coming into this season, I had high hopes for the Tar Heels. I hoped that potentially we could compete for a National Title. (But then again I always have that hope). We had a good mix of upperclassmen infused with tremendous incoming freshmen talent.

I did not believe that we were the best team, but I did believe that we could compete. In the NCAA Tournament, seeding can be overvalued. Yes, it can help, but it is not all important. What is far more important is who is in your bracket. And how well do you match up with the teams you have to go through. Occasionally there are teams that are either, so complete or so supremely talented or they simply have “That Dude”. In those instances, it does not matter who they play. However most times it comes down to who you have to play and having things go your way. That is how I felt about the 2018-2019 Tar Heels. With a good draw, good match ups and some fortuitous bounces, we could hang another banner.

Then reality set in via Texas and Michigan. I realized that we have issues, particularly on defense. Defensively we cannot keep anybody in front of us; weak side defensive help is non-existent. The number of times we got beat by backdoor cuts defies is beyond human capacity to calculate. But with that being said what most was glaring was the lack of leadership on the floor. Who is the leader of this team? Evidently no one.

UNC 111.jpg

Take Me to Your Leader:

Senior Leadership is phrase that was coined and brought into vogue by Dean Smith. It is ironic that UNC does not currently have any. The Tar Heel triumvirate of Cam Johnson, Kenny Williams and Luke Maye is who the team should be looking to in tough times. None of them are showing the grit and willingness to step up and hold the team accountable. It appears that Coby White, although a freshman may have to assume that role. The other change that looks like it needs to happen sooner rather than later, is inserting Nassir Little into the starting lineup. Kenny Williams is not giving the team enough to justify remaining in the opening 5; especially if he is not providing leadership.

All of the problems that the team has are fixable; but only if they are addressed. Some problems fix themselves over time. I don’t think that is the right approach in this situation. Push the freshmen to the forefront and hand the keys to White.

#Tarheels #UNC #NCAA

Sort:  

I’m a KU fan....but I love Roy! Good luck this year, y’all gonna need it because the Jayhawks stompin tall this year.

As for Roy, I am glad that you have love for him. Most KU fans were upset with him for leaving. Personally I was shocked that he did not come the first time he was asked. I assumed the second time that he would not come. It was hard for him. He saw his "father's" legacy being destroyed.So he left what he was building to ensure that the place where he came from still had meaning, and to safeguard someone else's legacy at the expense of what he himself was building at KU. Most people don't understand the magnitude of Roy's sacrifce and the courage it took to do it.

I totally agree with you. I did a post about Duke's Freshmen. I pointed out that KU was the best team in the country. I like when you do your videos. Your personality and passion comes through. I also see that you do your homework. It has encouraged me to step out and do videos. I appreciate the work that you put in. I am looking forward to your next video.

Background Change Pro1543912899890.jpgPicsArt_12-04-11.22.17.jpgBackground Change Pro1543848632761.jpg
Sir, i want to take steemjet to the next level. Have organize a steemjet basketball team and the is called the STEEMJET WARRIORS. We will be having a friendly match that is coming up soon. Please i need some steem to Register the team and get the Jerseys ready for the boys. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94