Rugby Union - England v New Zealand 1905 that Whistle and the Rugby World Cup

in #sport6 years ago (edited)

In 1905 England hosted the New Zealand All Blacks (famously known as The Originals) at Crystal Palace. The match was a one sided affair with New Zealand running out 0-15 winners, scoring 5 tries. The match and it's result is now long since forgotten but there is one lasting legacy from that match...

The referee's whistle.

The same whistle used to officiate that game survives today at the famous #rugby museum in Auckland. It is stamped with the names of the two teams, the name of the referee and the date. Even more remarkable is the fact that every four years that same whistle is blown at the start of the Rugby World Cup before being quickly returned to its home at the museum.

What's more, the company that made the 1905 version of the whistle are still making whistles today for sporting events large and small all over the world - #acme whistles in Birmingham, UK.

Sort:  

All publications were voted on
Their response

No way this just made me laugh. Brought back a memory when I was younger. Somone gave me one of these whistles I think that ball inside was like a dried pea I cant remember but I drove my parents crazy with it until i started playing the recorder then the trumpet and now the sax. Dam wish I still had that whistle though lol :)

Great comment Clive, thank you. More people than you would imagine have a connection to those whistles in some way. I suppose a whistle is a basic form of musical instrument so you have followed a very logical path! I'm actually working with the company that makes them on their online content so please keep a look out for more whistle related posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73