The early years conclusion

in #sport5 years ago

The-Pros-and-Cons-of-Taking-Steroids-for-Ulcerative-Colitis-1440x810.jpg
I have been reminiscing about the changes of an amateur sport to a professional sport.I played up until 1994 so one year before it became professional. Truth be told it was professional already, but just couldn't be said.

Training changed and coaching changed drastically over the years from 1992 -1994.We started having set schedules and targets for fitness. Practices used to be on Tuesdays and Thursdays and were now Mondays to Thursdays.I found this tough going as I was working during the day and now rugby was taking over my life.Saturdays were taken up with the match and could include a two hour drive somewhere.

Clubs were making good revenue from the supporters who were now being charged to come and watch. The bars and restaurants would be packed and could easily see 4 or 5000 people coming to watch the bigger matches.This was all about revenue and trying to poach players from other clubs.I was offered a contract at another club ,but my head was elsewhere now.I was looking to go over seas and maybe play for a London club.
13d7a3398dc7b388aef2399aed0ae945_XL.jpg

1994 was the last season I played there and I wasn't an eager beaver at the training ground anymore. What they were asking of the non full time players was ridiculous and it got so bad that they even had practices during working hours. Luckily my employees were understanding and gladly let me do my thing. Rugby as I knew it had changed and was becoming more business than pleasure.

The players coming through were all on steroids or had done it at some point. Most of them spent hours in the gym and that wasn't me. What made my mind up was seeing the steroids being used and it disgusted me. It was an amateur sport so there was no testing ,but they were all on it. Back line players included were popping them like smarties. I had seen enough and it was time to go.

When I arrived in England I knew I could do well and make it in the professional game. It was crossing over when I went to the first practice. It was pre season and I recognized some familiar faces.The difference was that these guys weren't as badly juiced as what I had witnessed the year before.I had to make a decision quickly though as things were slightly different.

My employer was the same company as what I had been working for all along ,but they had different rules. They liked rugby as they all wanted to come and watch, but if I got injured I was on my own. I was 27 at the time and if I could play rugby full time as a professional. The problem was my age as I could see myself playing at least 4 more years, but then I was done. If I was 23 or 24 I wouldn't have hesitated, but I had a young family I had to worry about now.

Who says that I would have made it as without the use of steroids all the others had a distinct advantage.I think it is just wrong that players went to these levels to enhance their performances.I look around today and it is hard to see who hasn't used them.When we see players break down for the smallest of issues it may be more severe than we think.Their bodies have developed at different rates and might look strong but are fragile when put to the test.

We see certain players fail random drug tests today which is foolish.A player that takes steroids early on in his career at 17 or 18 doesn't need to take them again as he has enhanced his muscle definition already.I read a report that over 50 percent of doping violations now are in the sport of rugby. It has got so bad in order to stop it they need to start testing players as young as 14. They say by the age of 18 it is too late and the abuse has happened already.

The children in the photograph below are under 13 and are just an example to show what age group they are starting at.

I wander if these children know what they are doing to themselves. Surely the parents know what is going on. Steroids kicks the body into puberty and I can only imagine the growth in these kids.Not only will you have weak muscles,but surely your bone growth would be affected.

It starts to make me think about other sports as well where I see certain players break down with muscle issues. Maybe they took steroids at a young age as well and now those muscles can't cope and just keep tearing.Who knows where it will end and I hope the players are kicked out with life time bans.I can't see this happening as the harshest ban I have seen was 18 months.

The giant of a man himself, Jonah Lomu. He died at the age of 40 from a heart attack,but had been on a dialysis machine and had one kidney replacement.Do these children know the danger or do they all want to be like Lomu?

A few of the top stars who have now retired have openly admitted to using steroids. Dan Carter of New Zealand was one of them. It is not all about the big guys and big muscles,but about the recovery time giving them the edge.

Image source saschools.co.za,theexpress.co.uk,thetelegraph.co.uk,everydayhealth.com

Sort:  

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 9.29% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I saw your comment on @matkodurko ‘s blog earn and learn and went to your blog, i think you learned something here steroids and kids nowadays need more education and see the dansers of them.
Have a great weekend

You got a 19.71% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptoand coffee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I wasn't aware that Dan admitted to juicing? Nice story.

He admitted it. Looks like it is who isn't juicing.

howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! so the use of steroids is mainly to increase endurance so you don't get out of breath?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99