You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Can A Skateboard Take You?

in #sport6 years ago

Hey there! I was saving my upvotes but I have to give you one. You're an awesome writer. I don't know how long it took you to make this one, but it's an awesome one. It took me many days to get accustomed to the formatting here. It seems you already got that up your sleeve.

I had a skateboard once. My dad bought it thinking I'd like to use it. I would, I was dreamy when I got it. But I noticed I didn't know how to ride a skateboard and I had no friends who would teach me, so it stayed there as a dust receptacle for who knows how many years.

I wish I had your bravery, and I constantly force myself to go out there and be braver, but I don't know if I'd dare to do what you're doing. Not only riding a skateboard, although that is a hard-enough hobby to start, but going out of your way to stop the life you had and go to another country to help them progress regardless of the dificulties you might find.

You mentioned the gender divide. How are your plans to guarantee your freedom to roam around there? Poverty-stricken places have, in my opinion, a higher tendency to enforce their cultural rules. You'd have to wear a scarf even to skate, probably. I'm curious about your view on this.

Overall, this is a great article. I have to welcome you to Steemit with open arms. Know that at times, this community can be a bit unrewarding if you don't go around commenting a lot and making connections. I hope you'll find your stay pleasant. Thank you for making such a great effort in making an excellent article for us to read. <3

Sort:  

Hi, thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed my post :) I never thought I'd get back into skateboarding and I'm just so glad I have done.

I know a little html which helped me with the formatting, also this article really helped me out with my pictures. I like code because it's just a big jumble of everything that means nothing and then you make the right change (in my case usually through research and trial and error) and suddenly exactly what you were trying to achieve appears on the screen. I'm a bit nerdy but I get excited by that. Maybe I'll write a post with some basic html for blogging if you think that it'd be useful?

As for Palestine, it'll definitely be an experience. I'll be in Asira which isn't as strict as other places. I won't need to wear a scarf I'll just have to wear long sleeves. We're told we should stay with male volunteers after dark as well. I'm used to being so independent so that will be a little hard to get used to but I think it'll definitely be worth it for the experience.

I'll definitely be writing and posting about my experience whilst I'm there... whatever that may be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67489.61
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56