You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Can A Skateboard Take You?

in #sport6 years ago

quite an inspirational story you have there. skatepal sounds like an amazing organization and im sure you could do a whole follow up just detailing out your preparations (and obvious excitement for it;p).

my favorite part by far was the turning point for you:

I started going to Girls' Night every week. I started going to the skatepark on other nights too. I learnt to drop-in, which I never had the guts to do as a kid. I began thinking about skating all the time. I'd walk along imagining ollieing over cracks in the pavement and up onto the curb. I'd sit at my desk looking out the window and praying it'd stay dry so I could skate after work. Then I found out about SkatePal.

its so apparent in your writing how impact this was on you, your everyday life, and with skatepal - your future. it takes a lot of courage to jump into a new hobby or skill as an adult - i think because because society in entertainment paints this picture of adulthood as this stagnant, dull and unchanging thing. one of the best lessons ive learned in life is that you can be a beginner at any age, you just have to not be afraid to look silly or fail. and you really took this head on. great post, thanks for sharing:)

Sort:  

You know when I was writing that part on my lunch break I was grinning, thinking back to that feeling. At the risk of repeating myself, it's just sheer joy, that's the only way to describe it.

What you're saying about being a beginner at any age is so true. I remember thinking that I was too old to get back into skating at 22, now I'm 28 and I think if I'd started skating again when I was 22, imagine how good I'd be now! I think the best rule to follow is to just go for the things you want, and don't stop trying new things.

The thought of adult life being unchanging, is something that absolutely terrifies me. Constantly challenging myself, whether through learning something new or going off to volunteer, is what keeps me from freaking out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71077.17
ETH 3807.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47