Ed Joyce announces retirement with immediate effect

in #sport6 years ago

Ed Joyce has announced his retirement from cricket with immediate effect, on Thursday (May 24). He made his Test debut in Ireland's inaugural Test against Pakistan earlier this month and has played 78 One-Day Internationals and 18 Twenty20 Internationals as well. He will now work as the batting coach and will oversee leadership development in the Irish performance system.
"I feel now is the right time to stop playing and get started on a new chapter. The recent Test match against Pakistan was such an incredible few days and was the perfect game for me to say was my last in professional cricket," said Joyce. "I am very grateful to Cricket Ireland for giving me the opportunity to get involved in the coaching set-up. I know I have a huge amount to learn about the art of coaching, but I know I also have a huge amount of knowledge that I'm determined to pass on to the next generation of Irish talent."

Sort:  

Pakistan was such an incredible few days

best of luck

He made his Test debut in Ireland's inaugural Test against Pakistan earlier this month and has played 78 One-Day Internationals and 18 Twenty20 Internationals as well.

leadership development in the Irish performance system.

Test match against Pakistan was such an incredible few days and was the perfect game

Congratulations @taushikeee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65454.89
ETH 2948.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69