Video: 64 year old skateboarder

in #sports6 years ago


Neal Unger proves that you are never too old to start skateboarding.

This guy is seriously cool. Neal Unger is a 64-year-old skateboarder who only recently took up the sport and is enjoying life shredding his local park. The below mini-documentary was filmed four years ago when Neal was 60 years old and gives a glimpse at a day with Neal at the skate park.

There are so many inspirational quotes I could have pulled from the film but I think this one sums up Neal’s attitude perfectly: “How old can I get and still act young?”

Not only does Neal prove that you are never too old to start skateboarding, or any other sport for that matter, but he also shows that so much more can be gained from the sport than the “non-skateboarder” might think.

Neal says that skateboarding is a platform where he can experience the most interesting parts of his mind. It’s an activity where the “noisy” part of his mind switches off, to some extent. He also mentions that what he learns from skateboarding and this feeling of quietness can be applied to other parts of his life—his friends, family and even as a tool to break bad habits.

Update: More recently, Neal appeared in the music video for The Moth & The Flame’s (TMTF) “Young & Unafraid”. Aside from being a brilliant track in its self, Neal’s signature slides and boneless tricks provide the perfect accompaniment and resonate the message behind the song.

His main goal is to continue to be able to skateboard on a daily basis. So keep shredding Neal!

You can also find this post on my website at: adaptnetwork.com/60-year-old-skateboarder



Website: adaptnetwork.com
Steemit: steemit.com/@benadapt
Scorum: scorum.com/profile/@benadapt
Facebook: facebook.com/benadapt
Twitter: twitter.com/benadapt
Instagram: instagram.com/benadapt
Minds: minds.com/benadapt


Earn Steem and support quality content with SmartSteem

Sort:  

Great post never thought a 64 year old men would even look at a skateboard let alone ride one. By the way I recently made a post of my personal hiking experience on a NOLS course( National Outdoor Leadership School) if your interested check it out.
https://steemit.com/life/@enosh/passion-a-never-forget-adventure-in-the-wilderness

Nice post @enosh - I upvoted it. 👍

Thanks glad you liked it ;)

I think Neal is on point. The mind is powerful. I'm 53 with a goal of bench pressing 325. I'm at 220 now. Like Neal it's my platform and I enjoy it emensly. We all must find that one thing that brings us personal joy and freedom.

43 here, and thinking I want to get back into lifting. I am kind of embarrassed at how much weight I've put on over the last 15 years or so. hehe. I hope you reach your goal!

You should just do it. My journey has been crazy at one point I was almost 300 pounds😥. I just started slow, only Competing with myself. You can do it👍🏿

For sure. 🤙

hi..am new to steemit

wow! I have great respect for this man, in this age such things ...:]

God, excellent publication

You can also find this post on my website at: adaptnetwork.com/60-year-old-skateboarder

Awesome! Age is no boundary.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's pretty freaking awesome. This has inspired me to get my fat butt back in shape. I'm a little ashamed of myself for letting myself get into such a bad state! I could rock the hell out of a skateboard back in the 80s and 90s.

you are the source of inspiration for us, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62