My Top 7 Most Memorable Betting Wins (Part 2)

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

After going through all my old records, compiling my list of top wins and writing Part 1 yesterday I could hardly wait to get back to work and finish off My Top 7 Most Memorable Betting Wins today. Sometimes I take for granted the huge moments I’ve had over the years and when you’re in a dry patch for a while it can sometimes seem like you’ve lost your edge. I’ve been feeling a bit stale recently but by writing this up it has helped to rejuvenate my punting mojo a bit. If you enjoyed my stories from yesterday then strap yourself in because I was just getting warmed up.

winner.jpg
Source

Here is the rest of my Top 7 continuing on from yesterday.


#4 : North Queensland Cowboys Grand Final – October 2015

cowboys.jpeg
Source

Anyone who knows Rugby League in Australia would agree that this Grand Final was probably the greatest of all time. I had been backing the Cowboys in the Futures market since before the season began and they had already been beaten by their opponents Brisbane Broncos in Week 1 of the finals. However the Cowboys had the Fairytale Factor in their favour having never won the comp plus Johnathon Thurston was on fire and due for another Premiership. I was out with my wife at the same classy pub I went to for the Sharks win the following year and we’d run into a few family friends too who were very boisterous so they created a very lively banter and atmosphere. The Cowboys came from behind to score a try in the final minute of the game and when Thurston kicked the conversion from the sideline the game was tied at full time and went into overtime. It was the most intense climax to a Rugby League season I’ve seen in my life and I’ve seen a lot, including the classic of 1989. When the Cowboys pinched a Field Goal in extra time to win 17-16 they had pulled off a miraculous win. I actually don’t remember much after that but I know we had a good night and when I checked my betting accounts the next day I had banked another win of approximately $4,000 AUD.


#3 : Kiama Holiday Horse Racing – November 2015

kiama.jpg
Source

This was a real purple patch I was in after coming off a great win in the NRL Grand Final the previous month (see #4 above) and I’d had a few really good Horse Racing wins over the Spring Carnival that year too. My wife had found a baby-sitter for our 1 year old first born and convinced me to take a break down the coast for a bit of a romantic getaway. The only problem was I had won a free ticket in a Horse Racing betting competition to be held that weekend and as I am one who doesn’t like to waste an opportunity she was far from impressed when I was on my mobile phone having a random lash early in the day while we were having coffee together. Sure enough my early bet won at odds and I was still in the running to win a prize a few hours later. We were getting ready for dinner in our hotel room when I insisted we turn the racing on for just 1 last race and I was in total shock when I hit another winner to take out a very substantial 1st prize. I was speechless for a while but we headed out to the nice Mexican restaurant overlooking the water for a very happy (and romantic) evening over a few Sangrias and Margaritas after pocketing a surprise win of just under $5,000 AUD.


#2 : Australian Cricket World Cup Final – March 2015

worldcupwin.jpg
Source

This is very close to my favourite win for a couple of reasons, but once you read #1 you’ll understand why this has to be #2. Once again I was loading up in the Futures market and heavily backing Australia to win the Home Cricket World Cup many months before the competition had even started – I was that confident. My favourite sport and my favourite team Australia were entitled to be favourites in the betting with a hot playing group in home conditions playing their best cricket format. It felt like getting money for jam and the icing on top was the fact that when the actual Final was being played against New Zealand I was on holidays at our favourite destination where I was once again Finding Zen on the Lake. I had actually missed the first over of the game where Mitchell Starc had bowled the dangerous Brendon McCullum – which was probably the most pivotal moment of the game. But I then got to sit back and enjoy watching Australia cruise to victory by 7 wickets while bathing in another beautiful pink and orange sunset over the lake. I remember being totally at peace with the world that day. Everything seemed to be exactly as it should be and I had one more reason to be happy with another cool win of over $5,000 AUD.


#1 : High Stakes Horse Racing – July 2016

horses.jpg
Source

This was another huge win that totally came out of left field. When I got up that morning I had no idea what was in store for me that day, but I went to work grinding some Horse Racing stuff as I normally do on a Saturday and things were looking pretty average and normal. However, there was an opportunity to take part in a High Stakes betting competition and I was aware of it going on but I was just planning to watch from the sidelines because I don’t like to have too much at stake. But about half way through the day the competition was suddenly looking very winnable and in a moment of recklessness I bought in late on a whim. I hit with my first bet, which was quite conservative and then watched as others fell down around me and heading into the last race of the day I was in the frame for a huge win. I made another fairly conservative bet and missed, thinking I had done my dash I was kicking myself for spending so much on such a large entry fee before I noticed that all the other players had bet big and missed and I had somehow finished in first place. I was in total shock and disbelief but after pinching myself several times that shock gradually gave way to pure elation as I had just banked another surprise win worth $20,000 AUD.


So that rounds out my Top 7 and as you can see, there are some pretty good times in that lot over the last few years. It hasn’t all been beer and roses though, pro-punting is a tough game and it can take a heavy toll if you lose your balance or perspective. Some of these big wins have come from loose play at times and that loose play can be very costly on another day, but these are the big wins that really sustain me long term. They are a reminder of some of the really amazing times this life has given me and I am grateful for every single one of them. Thanks for taking a trip down memory lane with me. It’s been fun!


teamaustralia_buggedout.png

Images and Credits
https://steemit.com/@bigram13
https://www.nrlsupercoachtalk.com
https://www.tripadvisor.com.au
http://en.prothomalo.com
https://www.racing.com

Sort:  

What was your worst loss?
Overall have you lost money gambling?
I think I've only lost like $100 or less gambling because I barely ever do it. If the lotto gets to $100 million or more sometimes I will buy a ticket. lol

My worst loss was not long after my best win. I gave back about $8K that day.

Still well in front though over the long run. Good luck with your lotto ticket. The odds are atrocious value but the prospect of winning $100 million sure is nice :)

Yeah I spend about $1 a year on lotto tickets for myself but sometimes I do give them as presents. They're easier to ship in a card and gift cards can be a pain. lol
That's pretty amazing you are ahead in the long run. I'd upvote your reply but my solo upvotes are below the .02 payout threshold.

I was heavy into matched and arb betting for a few years. It scan be very profitable and time consuming.

Great share bugged and great pre work read :)

You've probably got a couple of nice wins you could talk about. Often when doing matched or arb betting you can get some "middles" and when they hit they are very sweet!

Had a few good wins. I used to use software that scanned all around 40 bookmakers for odds. You know i'll cheat if i can, lol

I've had a few crazy swings in my gambling career as well. Its fun to relive the winners.

Absolutely. I should probably do a post about the losers. I've got a short list but I'm actually encouraged that they are fewer and smaller than the winners. At the end of the day that's what it's all about! :)

How's this for a big winner.... I won £10(18aud) on this years grand national!! How's that for #bigtime

ohhh yeahhh living the dream

Gotta start somewhere! :)

Seriously though, any win is a good win.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84