The Importance of Sports and Staying Active!

in #sports6 years ago


Hey guys! Recently, I commented on @bunnypuncher's post about my favorite sports to play and it made me realise the importance of playing sports and staying active! Here's a what I commented!

"Hey! My fav sports to play has always been badminton, it's a great game to play that's extremely tiring. I can barely play like half an hour of it before being being almost physically incapable of playing more LOL

I used to watch a lot of it but I don't have time anymore, but some of those Asians are crazy! Their reaction time and endurance is literally not human.

I played a bit in high school but didn't really play much, now I play it 3 times a week!

I also play volleyball once a week which is also fun.

I think it's extremely important to keep active, especially when you're getting older. It's easy to stay active in high school since there's so much sports involved in it but once it's optional, you have to push yourself to go out and stay fit! I reckon team sports are great as it not only helps you stay fit, it also helps you make new friends which is very important in this age of rapidly advancing technology, face to face is still extremely important"

Staying active

Last few months, I've been consistently gaining weight, going from around 62kg to just over 70kg. Ever since I've been playing sports I'm back down to 67kg and I'm still eating whatever I want, whenever I want! I also feel fitter and healthier, honestly. I feel I don't get as tired during the day and I feel I fall asleep better at night! After a few days without any physical activity, I seriously find it hard to fall asleep at night, often rolling around in bed for hours. Perhaps it's just a placebo, but I believe it so much that it works!

Making friends

In the last few weeks that I've been playing sports, I've made many new friends and reinforced existing friendships. It's a great way to meet you people and really a unique sense of comradery that you only really get from sports (or online gaming I suppose).

Self improvement

Over the last half a year or so, I've been calculating my self-worth with the numbers that describe my crypto portfolio, constantly in states of depression and mania. This is not healthy, especially for someone who has JUST turned 18! Now, I have a matrix of variables which I can measure myself on, feel good about and improve on. It's like diversifying your portfolio, if you just invest in one coin you either feel depression or mania, however if you invest in a plethora of different coins, you will have a balance. This is the same concept when you're measuring yourself, it's much healthier to look at yourself on an overall scale so you know where to improve and can still be happy about yourself at the same time!

Balance of online time and in real life time

It's important to balance it out. Make money on Steemit and other sources online, but what are you going to spend it on if you don't have your health with you? Who can you enjoy it with if you don't have friends around you? Playing sports is one of the best ways to get active and involved, thus creating a better body and mind for you! Life isn't all about how much money your Steemit account is worth!!!

Discussion

What sports do you play? How long have you played sports for and how has it helped you (or hindered you)?

I will be quite busy this weekend so I will likely not be replying to many comments. I will be less busy in a month or so when my exams will be over!

Thanks for reading!

Follow me for more informative posts and your chance to win free Steem every week by simply being active! More information here!!

Sort:  

67kg - still light @cryptoeater! Nothing to worry about! But for sure - a bit of sweat from a run always helps clear my head and make me a better investor/writer/overall human being. Even a standing desk as started to make all the difference in my life!

Yeah! 67kg is still alright! I'm hoping to start gyming soon too, perhaps turn some of my fat into muscle!

Exercise DEFINITELY helps clear the mind! Standing at your desk is a good idea, I might try that later :)

A balance life will brings you happiness!

Sound all well and good on the surface, but who wants to extend their life another 10 or 15 years? Most of those years you will be locked up in an old age home shitting yourself. I think 55 - 60 is a fine age to die. Great article though!!

I've thought of that as well, but I reckon it depends on situation. I understand your life is very different from mine but you should still take care of yourself. Being active isn't necessarily about living longer, it's about making the most out of the time you have here!

I agree, I have just had such a bad mind set over the last 32 years. I don't eat a lot, I never drink, I don't do drugs, I don't smoke, but I do drink a lot of pop. I am probably about 40 LBS over weight all due to pop. When I eat, I eat bad as well I guess. I have always been telling myself I was trying to induce a heart attack, but I do not think I have enough bad habits to induce one. I am the least over weight person in my family, if that counts for anything lol.

Sadly, life is worthless if you have to spend it all alone. The first 32 years I could manage, but I could never imagine another 50 years of this. It seems worse than hell.

Thanks for your reply :)

I hope you can make some friends online! You should get Discord and join some of the Steemit servers where lots of people are. Maybe you won't have to be so lonely when you've got here who support you. I know I for one value your contributions to this platform, it helps me understand my privilege and the responsibility that comes with it. You're truly a special person who's just gone through a lot of shit through your life, you being here with us today is testimony to your strength. I wish you nothing but the best :)

Thank you sir, for being such a young person, you have a really kind heart :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You got a 20.29% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @cryptoeater!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

promobot upvote in the amount of $58.92 STU, $117.43 USD.
therising upvote in the amount of $39.04 STU, $77.81 USD.
emperorofnaps upvote in the amount of $7.76 STU, $15.46 USD.
mercurybot upvote in the amount of $0.53 STU, $1.06 USD.

For a total calculated value of $106 STU, $212 USD before curation, with approx. $27 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @cryptoeater and is by no means a judgement of your work.

#es mucho más saludable verte a ti mismo en una escala global para que sepas dónde mejorar y al mismo tiempo puedas estar feliz contigo mismo." Me encantan esas palabras eso se llama autoevaluación, y de verdad es necesaria para hacer cuentas nuevas y comenzar a estar conforme con lo que somos. Te felicito porque ha pesar de tu corta edad has llegado lejos. Manda a la depresión bien lejos y diviértete amigo, sigue haciendo deportes y ejercicios y seguirás viendo buenos resultados. Sinceramente un gran abrazo, Nos vemos en la cima.

You will always have a better life if you do sports or you are an active person

Wow!! Theirs so much benefit in sports and I think i might try engaging myself in sports now..

as a trainner, i would tell you that, is that you should care to find out if the weith that you gained was fat or lean muscle, you can even get close to 80k and stay in a great shape.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01