Rate My World Cup Fantasy Team! [Acidyo Steem FIFA World Cup Fantasy League]

in #sports6 years ago

Two days to the World Cup and I am buzzing for it.

It is a chance to see some of the best players going head to head and probably a bit of scouting the recent premier league signings. Yes, Fred. I am looking at you. I am a big fan of football and having something to kill the boredom in the summer transfer window is very welcome.

If you enjoy football like me take a shot at playing the role of the manager in the World Cup Fantasy Football League. Try and gather the most points throughout the competition and win a couple of rewards.

While at it, head over to @acidyo's blog and take part in his competition - The Steem FIFA World Cup Fantasy League and get a chance to win prizes/Steem.


Rate My Team

- Formation

433 - Statistically, the most points are accrued from forwards and midfielders so it is only logical to overload these areas with talent. Also, chances of actually getting clean sheets in a world cup are relatively low. This is where you get to save a bit of you transfer funds. Don't cost cut too much or else you will be leaking goals and points.

- Attackers

I went with Lukaku, Neymar, and Griezmann.

Lukaku cannot stop scoring for country and even better he rarely gets injured or gets carded. [Famous last words?] Belgium also has some of the best attacking talent to support him as well. He will get many goals and that is why he is my captain in this team.

For Brazil, Neymar is probably not going to miss a game unless someone lands a knee in his lower back again. He is the talisman for obvious reasons. Expect him to carry Brazil very far into this competition.

Finally, Griezmann. The tricks, the shot accuracy and his ability to be in the right place at the right time make him an ideal candidate in my attacking array of talent. He finished as top scorer in the UEFA Euro 2016 and will probably be in the top three in the world cup.

- Midfielders

De Bruyne, Kante, Khedira

Frankly, at this point, most of the choices were informed by the cost more than anything else. De Bruyne is probably the pick of the bunch. He has goals in him and assists as well. I picked Kante for his potential to break attacks and his ever workman role in the France squad as well as for Chelsea. He is definitely a starter for France. Finally, Khedira always has a role to play in the German midfield. Khedira is more or less a shot in the dark for me.

- Defense

Danilo, Sidibe, Delph, and Trippier.

My defensive choices were informed by the groups the teams are playing in. Brazil, France, and England probably have some of the easiest groups to play in with maybe one team challenging them for the top spot. Chances are they will probably concede the fewest goals in their groups, therefore, I went with the most affordable member of their starting eleven.

Trippier, however, is one of the best right back I have seen when it comes to crossing the ball into the box especially for Harry Kane. He will be trying to find his head in every match he plays until the eventually get knocked out in after the group stages. Sorry, England. The team does not look very promising.

- The Bench

The less that is said about my bench the better. It screams 'out of funds' more than anything else in my team. If any player in my starting eleven is injured - Why am I saying, 'if'? WHEN a player in my starting eleven gets injured, I am fu**ed! My bench will be eliminated in the group stages and that is a fact but that is all I could do with the limited funds I had.


It is all or nothing here in the group stages of the World Cup. I probably rate this team a solid 7/10. Two points above average I would say.

Thanks for reading this post. If you are participating in this competition as well let me know in the comments below.

Have a nice day!

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Congratulations @deniskj! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11