You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: One Shining Moment.

in #sports6 years ago

As an UMBC alumnus who has never taken any pride in being such, let me say that I wouldn't blame anyone for not having a clue or caring about UMBC before last night. Over the years there have been many punchlines utilizing the "UMBC" abbreviation, and none that I ever heard of dealt specifically with athletics (although "U Must Be Crap" may have been an accurate description of the basketball team at various points in the past).

So when the brackets were announced and I saw that UMBC was in but the Terps of College Park were not, I didn't give it much thought. I knew that Virginia was the #1 team in the country, and I thought, "Cool", and then went on with the rest of my daily life.

Friday night comes around and I get home, and I flip on my laptop and decide to check out the tourney scores. Then the first thing I see is UMBC ahead by double digits with 7 minutes to go, and that's when I began to get really curious... and then history happened.

Well, those kids absolutely earned and deserved that win. And I'll be paying more attention to what happens to this UMBC team the rest of the way. Congrats, Retrievers. (Bonus points to the students on-campus for not rioting after the historic win.)

Sort:  

And a bonus point for you for pointing out that the students showed some class!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77