How Metta World Peace (Ron Artest) and I became friends. (Day3of30) #SteemIt30for30

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

Over the years, I find myself saying “you get what you give” more and more often. It feels good when people thank you for something (whether that's advice, help, or physical things) that you truly wanted to give them with no expectations of reciprocation. I truly believe that giving in all aspects to help others, kindness, and generosity without expectations makes this world a better place.

I invited Metta to speak @ our tech startup and wanted to give him a "priceless" gift of appreciation. We had also donated to his charity Xcel University (XU works to encourage kids to further their education and also advocates for Mental Health Awareness) for him to come hang out and speak to the company about his journey and the hustle which I'll share in a future video.

MWP has always been one of my favorites, known for his tenacious defense, relentless hustle, and heart of a true champion. I admired that he auctioned off his one and only NBA championship ring with the Lakers to donate towards his charitable causes and to spread mental health awareness. So, I wanted to give him a gift that'd give him some nostalgic feels if he were able to have memorabilia from the Championship. I hunted down an unopened 2009-2010 Lakers Championship Edition Wheaties box from the year that he played a vital role in their championship run and couldn't wait to give it to him.. Metta and I still talk and text til this day, and it's awesome to be working with one of his apps called Gradelo.

Sort:  

@ericphan
great post! Metta is a great guy who is working hard for honorable causes following a great NBA career. Not to mention he is a dad too!
I see him often during the summer at the VBL (venice basketball league) where he has his won team. Also had a chance to play with his oldest son.

Are you getting him steem? Wheaties on Steem!

Hi @liotap! Thank you! Metta really is a great guy who's doing his best to lead by example on so many different levels, from how to be a great father, to supporting honorable causes, to the transition of being an entrepreneur post-professional sports career.

Nice!! His sons are getting to be really good, especially his oldest! Metta and I texted about hooping and we've been trying to set some time (around my work schedule/crazy busy weekends, and his crazy busy schedule too) to play but haven't been able to make it yet. I'll be sure to record that vid when it happens. His sons may come out too so hope I don't get highlight reeled haha

I'll be working to get him onto Steem since he's been more involved on LinkedIn and Instagram, and I think he'd be a great person to have in the community!

sounds good. come to venice beach over the summer. check out veniceball.com!
i am in MDR so if you ever come this way, for work or otherwise, pls drop me a note.

@liotap Veniceball.com looks like a SOLID organization, league, and initiative! I'll have to check it out and make my way out there some time during summer. MDR isn't too far, I'm based out in Irvine for work and have meetings/tech networking events in Santa Monica and DTLA a couple times per month. Will drop you a note to connect - we can talk decentralized/blockchain technology, basketball, and life. I'll send you a couple of these tech events too in case you want to come out like this SiliconBeach.LA Tech Event April 26th @ the Viceroy https://www.meetup.com/meetup-group-XIZFumga/events/248999477/

Also, Metta's having a Gradelo Basketball Festival May 12th at University High School with drills and competitions and a celebrity game and performances to benefit the kids if you're interested/free/want to learn more.

Hi Lio, I went to a Veniceball event a few weeks ago, since I work w Metta with his apps such as XVSX Sports, and I was looking out for you since MIKO/Niko, and some of the others like everybodyhateschris. Feel free to reach out [email protected] or @ericphan on Instagram. Happy to chat and meet up with you shortly since I’m out there every week or two now.
Cheers,
Eric
,

i followed you @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88