You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Japan & South Korea 2002 - World Cup Memories and betting suggestions.

in #sports6 years ago

We where there and did get robe against Brazil. It was a clear goal from Wilmots and should have never been disallowed :(
But I also made a bad call. I was doubting between going to Japan and cheer them on or to buy a new TV. Dumb-ass that I was, I bought a tele!
I had never experienced a world cup without Belgium. Normally we would skip the European Championship and just qualify for the world cup again!
But like you know, we weren't present in the next 2 world cups :(

Sort:  

I know the feeling of not qualifying for a World Cup, you will have noticed the absence of 1994 in these articles! I have never been to a World Cup either... to be honest the thought of travelling anywhere under the banner of the England football team hasn't ever appealed!

You what was strange for me? I am from 1976, so until the world cup 2006, I didn't know any better than that we would qualify. And for each tournament since 86 (to young) I still know where it was played and how we did got eliminated! Maybe the most dramatic experience for me what in France, where we did manage to draw 3 time in the group and got eliminated!
In the states we got rigged against Germany, in Korea we got a perfect goal disallowed against Brazil. In Brazil, we did get eliminated against Argentina, we did play like chickens and it was the only game ever that I did Messi running :). In Italy we already discussed Plat!
So yes, we did have great moments!
And yes, probably I will ever go to an European Championship or world cup. Together with the boys when there are old enough and we will have qualified!
Just like we did visit the Olympic games once, and for sure we will do again!

I really did like the series you wrote! I brought back lots of memories!

Cheers,
Peter

Haha, perhaps Belgium are like England! Nearly every exit comes with a hard-luck tale attached to make the pain worse and the feelings of what-might-have-been stronger!
Thanks again for following these articles, it means a lot to know that people are reading and enjoying them :-)

Good luck Belgium!

I really do enjoy them! And for sure the discussion we have!
That what Steem should be about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92