The Only Time I've Cheered For an Opposing Pitcher

in #sports6 years ago

Last night my team, the Toronto Blue Jay's, got shut out losing to the Seattle Mariners 5-0. The only thing that made it bearable was that the pitcher we were facing was a Canadian.

400.jpeg

James Paxton threw a complete game no hitter. The first time a Canadian has accomplished the feat on Canadian soil.

After 7 innings without giving up a hit the home team's fans actually began cheering for the opposing pitcher. A tremendous defensive play in the ninth helped seal the no no and the 20k fans at Rogers Center gave James a standing ovation.

After the game James flashed his big Canadian Maple tattoo and thanked the fans for the encouragement.

Just a pretty cool moment and I'm glad I was at home and able to witness it 😎👍

Thanks for reading,

@goldenarms

DQmW9YxeSqqsKR2yv7ZHMGvhUtoR4zRVQeGYDCRVhpegSTE.png

Sort:  

I don't know a lot about baseball except that its not my favorite sport and the rest I know from watching movies about baseball. But a no hitter (is that the same as a perfect game?) seems like it must be a pretty awesome accomplishment anyway, so this is cool! Canadians are da bomb

Perfect game is when u give up no hits and don't walk anyone. Last night Paxton walked a couple of batters

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

As a Seattle resident I support your cheers for the Mariner’s. 😊 ⚾️

It's nice that the fans have a spirit of sportsmanship and even when one is in an opposing team they still know their own and support raw talent, lovely post.

That's a cool accomplishment. That's funny that the fans started cheering for him. Classy though.

Sucks to get no-hit, but this was totally worth it and pretty damn cool! I listened to it on the radio.

I saw the highlights...Awesome!!!
And what a killer tattoo!

Makes me proud to be Canadian!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99