#37 NBA Moves! Free Agency, Players that are left (Haas Picks)

in #sports6 years ago

Where will the last free agents land? Let’s find out together.

Hi welcome back everybody! Like most of you know I posted about the regular season of the NBA weekly as well as I did while the play-offs were on. During the past season I posted over 30 times about my take on the best performers weekly. I really enjoyed doing it and will be back for sure next year!
A few weeks ago I watched the Championship parade in Auckland and realized we all have to wait until the last week of October again to watch some regular season action. Luckily we are in for a great off-season if you ask me, I expect many great moves and the Warriors will be looking closely on who wants to dethrone them.
Today I past about the moves I want to see happen this off-season, but first I will explain the terminology briefly so we understand the different types of free agents.

NBA Ball.png

Unrestricted free agent
Is free to sign with any team although some have options or restrictions in their contract that may impact their choices.

Restricted free agent
Can sign an offer of every team, but the players original team can retain the player by matching the offer.

Player option
Grant the player the power to decide whether to stay for another year or become an unrestricted free agent.

Players left
By now we are in the fourth week of free agency and most players found new teams. However there are still some players left. This post will discuss some of these players.

Clint Capela
The big question here will be if the Rockets will be willing to match any offer on Capela. He had a very strong season and to me they really need him if they want to win a championship. Especially after the Warriors signed Cousins. They really need a strong player under the rim.
I expect the Rockets to match any offers but it won’t be cheap. The Rockets already gave Chris Paul a four year $160 million deal and also signed Gerald Green and Michael Carter-Williams to smaller deals. The Rockets like many other teams will pay some Luxury Tax for sure.
Capela did not wanted to sign a five year $85 million extension because he simply expects more, so at mentioned he will be with the Rockets for a longer time, my outsider pick will be the Bulls.

All star 6.png

Rodney Hood
I am a Utah Jazz fan and liked what Rodney Hood was doing there I also felt sorry for his role with the Cavs. I don’t expect him to sign a new deal with the team, he is a restricted free agent so the Cavs will also have the option to match the offer. I think he will end up with the Bulls in order to start the rebuilding or with the Pacers to add other weapons to their team.

nba trade 6.png

Dwayne Wade
I read an article about him receiving a big offer out of China! Could he sign there? I believe Wade is very aware of how to build his brand so it could be an option on the other hand he can stay with the Heat and have a great life-style there. Or will he team up with his friend Lebron? I think he will sign with the Heat on a team friendly deal.

nba week 27 pic 2.png

so only a few more moves left before the teams are ablt to focus on next season! I get more and more excited and am ready to watch some games again. will be back with some more NBA post soon and even the season preview is not far away.
Few more months before the action is back

Haas pic small.jpg

Sort:  

@heyitshaas I don't see the Bulls doing much, if anything else. They drafted Wendell Carter to play Center. They already have Robin Lopez and Bobby Portis can play C in a pinch. They also spent a lot on Jabari Parker, so they don't have much room left, if any. My Bulls look young again, but I'm hoping they can at least play .500 ball this year. I still question the re-signing of Zach LaVine. Nice writeup!

LaVine to me is a bit of a gamble, but think a smart move to match his contract, they gave up Jimmy to get him so ontherwise they would let him go to easy, he is still young.
I beleive that if they can get Capela for longterm they are better of then with Lopez and Portis but think he will just sign with the Rockets

Its been a crazy summer so far, but how after the Raptors really screwed over DeMar Derozan, I stand behind players controlling their own futures.

I don't see Wade shipping out to China. He's eager to start an ownership role soon, so finishing off this career in Miami then transitioning to that would seem a lot smoother than starting a new stint in China. Plus, his numbers weren't bad with Miami. Put him and Dion Waiters on the floor together and they can have a good showing in the dilapidated East.

Thanks for stopping by! see you are new, hope you enjoy the platform and will do well. dont forget to write an introduction post to create more attention.
I still think China is very tempting to him, you are right that he wants into ownership but building your own brand in China will be huge aswell. do say aswell that I think he will sign a team friendly deal in Miami.
Thanks for stopping by, have a good one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73