Stamping Grandad to the Blockchain..Baseball Hall of Famer

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

dave-hoskins.jpg

This Blockchain technology gives me another feeling when I post something. It just feels like it will be forever. Last night I got the idea to put my Grandad on the Blockchain. When I seen him on Wikipedia it hit me like never before. It's not the first time I've seen it but it feels like it! Only there weren't any pictures of him, maybe that's how wiki is set up. I don't go there much. Anyways, here is Dave Hoskins and a brief overview of his story and accomplishments.

source..wikipedia
David Taylor Hoskins (August 3, 1925 – April 2, 1970) was an American professional baseball player: a right-handed pitcher who appeared in 26 games for the Cleveland Indians of Major League Baseball during the 1953 season and 14 games during the 1954 campaign.
Hoskins was the first African American to play in the minor league Texas League, pitching for the Double-A Dallas Eagles in 1952. He faced much the same kind of hostility that Jackie Robinson did when he first broke into the majors five years earlier. Though players loved him, some fans cursed and taunted him, especially outside Dallas. At first, he was not allowed to play in Shreveport when the Eagles traveled there to play the Shreveport Sports. [1]
Hoskins won 22 games for the Dallas Eagles in 1952 with a 2.12 earned run average. The pitcher made the All-Star team and also hit .328, an outstanding average for a pitcher. Six years later, he won 17 more games for the renamed Dallas Rangers in the same circuit.
Hoskins made the big-league Indians in 1953, going 9-3 with a 3.99 ERA. The following year, he had an ERA of 3.04, as the Indians won the American League pennant. But he developed a sore arm and would not return to the Major League again.
Hoskins' professional career began in the Negro Leagues and continued from 1949 to 1960 in minor and Major League baseball. In 139⅓ Major League innings, Hoskins allowed 131 hits and 48 bases on balls. He struck out 64.

He passed away before I was born but I did attend the Hall of Fame induction ceremony in 1983 at the IMA Sports Arena in Flint, Michigan. I knew it was a big thing but I didn't really know until I grew of age.

hoskins-meyer.jpg

My Grandmother, his wife, had to huge to part to play in my development growing up. I lived with her until she passed on of cancer. I never met my Grandfather but I could feel him from the stories they would tell me and the competitive edge I've always had. This is for you Grandad and Grandma,
487594_199888036825995_1371123346_n.jpg
the Legacy has now been BLOCKCHAINED... in Love.... H

Hoskins-Dave.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68