24 Years Ago...

in #sports5 years ago (edited)

24 Years Ago....png



Here's a picture to start a story...


That's me on the right...A very young me!

To my left are my very good friends Matt and Luis.

We all grew up together in Toronto and in 1995 our lives changed forever...

You see, we were HUGE basketball fans. While the country of Canada is famous for it's obsession with hockey, we loved basketball. Before 1995, we had to cheer for teams outside of our city AND our country.

However the NBA came to Toronto that year and the Raptors were born. The first few seasons the team played in what was then known as the SkyDome - the baseball stadium for the Blue Jays.

Yes, they turned a baseball stadium into a basketball court...


(Source - Twitter)

(Seriously...They did....)

But finally the team moved across the street to the Air Canada Centre (Now the Scotiabank Arena)

The three of us used to frequent the games, multiple times a week. They had this really cool 'section' in the arena that was called the 'Sprite Zone' back then were we could get a ticket each to the game for around 10 bucks each...

We loved it.

We were the loudest fans in the section and fell in love with the team for the years to come...

Oh the years to come...

Being a fan of the Toronto Raptors meant for quite sometime, you were the laughing stock of the NBA. The only Canadian team, the players that quit on the city and franchise...The losing seasons.

And boy, was there ever some losing seasons.

Tonight....That changed.


(Source - Toronto Raptors Twitter)

After 24 LONG seasons, my favorite basketball team on planet earth...Won it all!

I get laughed at sometimes for my loyalty to 'my teams'. I'm a Toronto Maple Leafs fan in hockey (that's a story in itself), I'm a Buffalo Bills fan in football (Google what it has happened to that franchise...) but tonight....I did the laughing.

And a whole lot of crying LOL It's amazing what sports can do to you...The emotion. The passion. The heart break. But let this be a lesson to ANY fan of any franchise out there...

Stay the course! Keep cheering! Keep supporting! Because when THIS happens...And you win it all...It makes every single painful heart breaking season worth it.

I know Matt and Luis are celebrating like I am...Even though we have grown up, have families and live thousands of miles a part... It's amazing boys! Absolutely amazing....We won!

Toronto won!

Canada won!

The Raptors are the 2019 NBA champions!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/24-years-ago/

Sort:  

They play great basketball this year, congratulations for winning

Posted using Partiko Android

they really did. the world champs now :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking handsome my friend at your young age . Sometimes watching old pics of school and college feeling so drastic mood and makes feeling happy from inside.

Posted using Partiko Android

indeed. always great to capture life moments.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Still hard to believe. It'll sink in eventually I guess lol

Ha ha ha ha ha right? I dont wanna get pinched and woken up.

Good story @jongolson my favourite game is cricket I am not interested basketball

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's a pretty popular sport with my in-laws. They love cricket.

Vc all fay err day. That rookie season from carter was everything!

I called it in my drugwars memo to you. Raptors in 6!

Posted using Partiko Android

ha ha ha ha thank you sir. yeah in his prime VC was legendary.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Amazing story Jon! Congrats for the win, since I have no basketball favorite, I'm cheering with you right now! Aweosome!

thanks man. i’m on cloud 9 right now :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am not basketball fans but my husband is and had been watching videos the past days and he shouted today too. Haha. He has come basketball cards collection which I didn't know how to appreciate lol. =P

LOL Your husband is a wise wise man lol I havent messed with card collecting in years, but there is a huge market for it for sure

Congratulations on the win once more! The story around it is awesome and when you reach the goal after such a long time, the win is more sweet!

i had so much more to add. lol didn’t wanna bore people tho lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's s cool that you were a fan since the beginning. Congratulations to you and your team!

thanks very much. i’m still in shock lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great story @jongolson and I also played basketball in my youth, but the truth is at the amateur level, but these were unforgettable times!

appreciate that. oh that’s true. i’ll never forget this :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77