Sports TV Behind the Scenes: University of Florida Volleyball

in #sports6 years ago


Over the last few days I've been up in Gainesville to work a few games for the SEC Network. I worked with one of my usual clients for the two-game stretch of SEC volleyball action that sandwiched the gridiron battle royale between LSU and UF Saturday.

While I certainly don't follow volleyball, it's hard not to learn a few things about the conferences, players and such when working games. Florida has been known to have a good squad for years now and the SEC conference has some good competition just like most other SEC sports. Our first scheduled game to cover was the Friday matchup with another undefeated SEC team Texas A&M.
I don't like to even be paid to work on the UF campus, go DAWGS!

I was working as an A-1 for these games which basically means I'm the lead audio engineer. I'm responsible for building and designing the audio setup for this particular arena. I also mix the games live for TV and create several specific sub-mixes that are distributed to various radio broadcasts and streams. Normally games go somewhat smoothly, however Murphy's Law showed it's ugly head early on Day 1.

I was under the assumption I would be working in a production truck I had already mixed several shows in. I was surprised to see a brand-spanking new production vehicle early Friday morning. After shooting the shit with the truck engineers I learned this production vehicle was just pieced together the previous week and this would be it's first show, not to mention an audio console I've never used before.


challenge accepted

I didn't really have time to snap any pictures during the show Friday because we were busy figuring out and fixing all the little technical quirks in the new truck. I won't bore you with the details...BUT I will share a good laugh with you!
Funniest thing I've seen on a shoot in years...foot to the face! Engineer on engineer violence...

What you are looking at above is one of our truck engineers crawling inside through a carefully removed patch panel. About 30 minutes before that happened, I closed the doors to the back of the truck which is where my audio booth is. Apparently the locking mechanism on the door broke and we were unable to get back in...not like you need to hear anything when you watch sports on TV, right? I felt bad until I was told they had recently paid to repair the same thing on this vehicle before outfitting it with all the new equipment.

A locksmith was called and would take waaaay too long. We were going LIVE in less than an hour! We ended up removing the patch panel so he could squeeze through to the booth in the back and jimmy open the door. We literally removed the screws from the door hinge and tried prying the door open with crowbars with no success before this happened! The whole crew was dying laughing watching this.



creative problem solving right here

the show MUST GO ON!

We got in and I barely had time to situate myself and do final mic checks before game time. We limped into the production yet pulled it off like pros, but if you saw the process you'd likely feel differently.


I need 2 more hands and 15 more fingers

Florida won against another undefeated SEC team in Texas A&M and they went the full 5 sets.

Flash-forward to Sunday for another SEC showdown bringing in my Georgia Bulldogs. After working most of the wrinkles out of the production process Friday, Sunday felt like a piece of cake.

I arrived early and so did my audio assistants. We had everything built again and tested before the camera crew even showed up. Here's a look at our booth setup courtside.


commentator's booth

When it comes to audio, I am responsible for the booth setup (above) consisting of the three announcer consoles plus several comm lines set for the stage manager, time-out coordinator, two statisticians, two audio party lines for my assistants on either side of the court, camera comms and more. It's a TON of people coordinating over comms to pull off the broadcast, here's a peek at the comm console in my audio booth.



The top panel is for all comms, the below piece of gear is basically a router for my comm system and it controls which cams or feeds I see in my monitor.


waiting for something to go wrong

Thankfully our Sunday game went off with no errors on the audio side...cameras took a minute to settle in...

Georgia ending up bringing some serious competition. Honestly, when I'm working games I'm cheering for whichever team could end the game first. I'm a Georgia fan, so it's a bit sacrilegious to be in the UF Swamp...let alone cheer for them. Rivalries and team support is pushed aside when working. We want to get in, get a good show out, break down and flee the scene as soon as possible.


commercial break

I did enjoy learning yet another board, figuring out digital consoles can be fun and sometimes frustrating. Thankfully I had a local audio production legend as my A-2, I will ask for him whenever he's available when I'm in that part of the state!


photos captured with Samsung Galaxy S7 - ©2018

Thanks for stopping by!

follow me @liberty-minded
find me on Scorum @liberty-minded



until next time...
Sort:  

"What does this button do, I wonder... ?" Nice photos, especially that last one with the focal drop-off.

So... Do you get to choose what pops up on the big screen out there? Could you slip in a funny cat video? lol

lol, no the jumbo tron is usually controlled in-house. I'm always tempted to add strange sound fx into the mix. If I can make a few people spin their head around looking for the sound source I've done my job

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Liberty-Minded from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 113 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05